Essay Contest

The Right to Not Write

Incite Change Essay Contest #2: Racism in Feminism

Trans Feminism Rainbow (Intersectionality) symbol; Photo from well-examined life blog

This must’ve been a difficult essay topic. I was hopeful for a serious discussion on a serious topic. We are a Bad Influence because we incite change. It says so right under the #beingBad tab on our home page.

I guess I have been hopeful that the Incite Change Essay Contest would, well, incite. I also want to see all of our writers get some money for all of their hard work. We can’t offer much, but we can do $10 bucks a month. We might be able to do more as time goes by and donations come in.

So, I was pretty disappointed this month when few people took on the challenge to incite change by writing about racism in feminism and intersectionality.

Reuben Salsa pointed out to me that “Racism in Feminism” is a niche topic.

It never occurred to me. I assumed everybody would have an opinion on both racism and feminism and, by extension, racism within the feminist movement. It never occurred to me people might not have even heard the words intersectional and intersectionality.

I was wrong.

I would like to say I’m ok with that. I’m ok with being wrong. I’m ok with racism in feminism being a niche topic. I would like to say I’m ok…

--

--

Jonica Bradley (Am I paranoid or RU following me?)
The Bad Influence

Writer/Painter/Poet/Believes in magic/nature/prays to unicorns/goat expert/bee farmer/mental health advocate/C-PTSD/human rights advocate/coolest person ever