Their Comedy Now Reserved For Heaven

Dedicated to Norm MacDonald

Melissa R. Mendelson
The Bad Influence

--

Photo by Brands&People on Unsplash

I heard the news that Norm Macdonald had died.

I always liked him, loved his humor.

Now, all I have are Youtube clips and faded memories,

the good old days of Saturday Night Live,

and my smile did not last

because those comedians that always made me laugh

are upstairs now.

And last night, the thunder cracked and crashed,

but I realized that it was their laughter

echoing out across the distance.

They were having a good old time,

Norm, Chris, John Belushi and Candy, Phil and Gilda,

rolling up quite a storm,

and the lightning were stage lights

filling my room.

I fell back to sleep with tears in my eyes

but a smile on my face,

imagining the angels doubled over with laughter

because if anyone could make an angel laugh,

it would definitely be those comedians.

But they will still be sadly missed.

Thank You for reading my writing. Please, keep in touch, following me here and on Twitter.

--

--