There is Danger in the Fog

Memory loss and brain fog aren’t just annoying; they are dangerous.

Lamp posts along a trail in the fog.
Photo by Rory Björkman on Unsplash

I'm far too young to be this old.

I started the aging process a bit younger than most. Not only did I have a full hysterectomy in my 30s, jump-starting menopause, but I have done a lot of damage to my body. I started smoking cigarettes when I was ten. I poured a lot of poison down my throat and have put worse into my veins. I began drinking and using drugs at 13. I continued well into my thirties. I no longer use drugs or even drink beyond the occasional glass of wine or bottle of beer. I do still smoke cigarettes. The damage from these chemicals is showing itself in my body; in my brain.

I live in a fog.

Fortunately, this expedited aging doesn’t show on my face. I’m a bit vain about surprising people with my age. I’m told I look 10 years younger than I am.

I’ve just got regular aging on the outside.

I’m a little too heavy, I have more gray than brown or blonde on my head, I probably dribble when I laugh too hard, cough, or sneeze. I don’t have many visible wrinkles, but I see my jowls.

My age shows itself on the inside.

I have a laundry list of conditions and diseases for which I am prescribed medication…

--

--

Jonica Bradley (Am I paranoid or RU following me?)
The Bad Influence

Writer/Painter/Poet/Believes in magic/nature/prays to unicorns/goat expert/bee farmer/mental health advocate/C-PTSD/human rights advocate/coolest person ever