Blog

Triggered

Stream of consciousness anxiety

- morning pills Photo by Jonica Bradley

Yesterday morning something happened.

I was moderating a community I created on a blogging platform. A part of my moderation process is to run submissions by unfamiliar authors through a plagiarism checker. I don’t even read the piece, just copy and paste the entire document or 1000 words of the document into a plagiarism detector.

I don’t earn money for moderation. I have high standards for my community however and insist upon 100% original work. Because I don’t earn money for moderation, I do not use the premium option. My plagiarism checker is free. So, it’s good, but not great.

It will scan the document and ping sentences that have shown up somewhere else on the internet. It will determine the percentage (up to 1000 words) of the document is plagiarized content. It will highlight the areas of the document that have shown up elsewhere on the internet. It will show the source from which the matches came.

So far, it has been fairly accurate. Pieces that have been published to the platform but not yet submitted to the community I created will ping plagiarized. In other words, the writer’s own content is pinging as plagiarized from the blogging platform itself.

--

--

Jonica Bradley (Am I paranoid or RU following me?)
The Bad Influence

Writer/Painter/Poet/Believes in magic/nature/prays to unicorns/goat expert/bee farmer/mental health advocate/C-PTSD/human rights advocate/coolest person ever