IDEASTREAM WEEK 24

We Shall Overcome

We might not know when but we know we will, as long as we persevere

Marla Bishop
The Bad Influence
Published in
4 min readJun 12, 2020

--

Hello beautiful people,

As more videos come to light and the protests go on, this is a time to explore the deeper roots of what’s going on. Please watch this insightful explanation by British author Afua Hirsch.

However you choose to protest, please make sure you take care of your physical, emotional, and mental health. The following is the way I protest.

If I do watch a video of an atrocity, I will sit with myself and think about whether I will share it and with whom. Then I will do something healing — it might be as simple as walking in the grass in my bare feet, reconnecting with the Earth. Then I may make an offering for transgressions in the form of a prayer, meditation, or a donation to a suitable organisation. Finally, I close the cycle, taking an action such as joining a protest march, a zoom discussion, or singing along to a protest song.

--

--

Marla Bishop
The Bad Influence

Londoner, philosophy graduate, journalist, relationship coach, wife & mother. MA in Novel Writing; working on 1st novel. Follow me: https://linktr.ee/Marla