Welcome to the Cancel Culture Club

I’m what you would call a calmer comedian

Lee Serpa Azevado
The Bad Influence

--

The terminology may be relatively new but let’s be honest now, the human behavior we currently call ‘cancel culture’ is most certainly not. Talking of which only the other day I got called out for claiming that brain transplants will be a thing of the future, just wait, once we have the technology then all those naysayers will change their minds. Seriously though, why the hell is my dentist facing allegations of racism for refusing to make teeth anything other than straight and white?

For absolute aeons, we’ve excluded those whose behaviors and opinions are deemed objectionable, oppositional, and sometimes just simply misunderstood. I mean, only the other day I caught a bunch of social justice warriors scurrying about in my backyard digging up large wooden stakes, saying something about the need to remove my posts before they caused a fence.

From the Salem Witch Trials to the McCarthy Files, from Neo-Nazism to Post Presidential-Trumpism, we humans have fast become far too adept at ostracizing those we find not to our liking. Only the other day I got called out for supposedly being a morally independent individual who exercises common sense with such wanton abandonment. Pfft! You’ll never catch me engaging in such shenanigans.

--

--

Lee Serpa Azevado
The Bad Influence

Scribbler of stuff, psychotherapist, giant punsexual, pronouns: fee-fie/foe-fum. Mental health(y), humo(u)r, politic(k)s and other such no(n)sense.