When Dealing with Illogical Bureaucracy

Never give up trying to reason

Marla Bishop
The Bad Influence

--

Photo by the blowup on Unsplash

WHAT do you do when you come up against illogical behaviour, especially within bureaucratic departments?

This is a question I faced recently when I received a penalty charge notice (PCN) from a National Health Service (NHS) department for the collection of mispaid benefits.

The letter said that I had claimed free dental health care to which I was not entitled, listing the benefits which gave entitlement.

It specified I therefore had to pay the dental charge of £70.70, plus a PCN of £100.

I read the letter carefully from beginning to end, and then emailed my response, clarifying that I was in receipt of one of the benefits listed which entitled me to free dental health care.

I received an email back, stating that my benefit was not the correct one. (It transpired there are three benefits with the same name but with different adjuncts.)

I emailed them back, asking them how it was humanly possible for me to know this, as my benefit has the same name as the ‘correct’ one?

They emailed back saying it was my responsibility to check the benefit I was in receipt of was the correct one.

--

--

Marla Bishop
The Bad Influence

Londoner, philosophy graduate, journalist, relationship coach, wife & mother. MA in Novel Writing; working on 1st novel. Follow me: https://linktr.ee/Marla