100 WORDS

Why Can’t I Be More Assertive?

Thrifty Words 100 Challenge #70: Why?

Smillew Rahcuef
The Bad Influence
Published in
1 min readMay 27, 2022

--

Photo by Scott Higdon on Unsplash

He asked for a favor.

I told him, “I don’t have the time right now, but maybe later?”

It was a lie. I had the time but didn’t want to help, not after what he did last winter. It’s too easy for him to come back after a few months as if nothing happened.

I told myself I didn’t want to hurt his feelings. But that was a lie too.

I didn’t have the guts to say no to his face.

I might not be assertive enough to tell him the truth, but I will stand my ground this time.

It had been a long time since my last participation in the thrifty words challenge. Thanks, Marla, for reaching out. It brought back some good memories.

Keep on bad influencing!

I enjoyed this piece by Patrick recently:

--

--

Smillew Rahcuef
The Bad Influence

One day I will stop writing on Medium. Read my stories while you can.