Another day

With You Around~

Above Ground

--

Photo by Jordan Whitt via unsplash

Some days
I awake to the stench of burning flesh
And the taste of gasoline
lingers on my tongue
I can feel the weight
of all the dead souls on me
smothering my every effort to exhale
I try calling out
I even try screaming

"I’m right here"

to the shadows hovering over me
But although my thoughts
rush violently from within
not a single sound escapes my lips

I am trapped
Perhaps this is my fear of
dying
I feel small fractures
in my concrete posture
Already every pore, internal is
crying
I feared
this might have been my big ending
When suddenly
from this terrible dream
I awoke from the evil humour
of death’s
lying

Some days
I awake to a raging stream
of insecurity
My reflection in the mirror
speaks to me
in its low whispering voice

"You have no idea what you are doing
and sooner or later you will be exposed"

Yesterday
you were secure in childhood
having been confidently guided
through life by parents
they never having once
exhibited a single day of insecurity

Today
and seemingly without notice
you are now your parents
realizing they must have had endless days
of insecurities
And in a moment of serendipity
you stepping away
from the drug of the affirmation of others
having endless solutions for your life
but no honesty in their own
you find your foundation

My insecurities remain
and while no closer
to being off the ledge separating
my youthful memories
from
my adult responsibilities
I know now I am in the good company
of
another blessed day above ground
But
even more precious is having
another day with you around

@Anthony2023mdh30Vibes

--

--

Anthony Cloe Huie (Choose Living Over Existing)
The Bad Influence

Choose Living Over Existing(CLOE)Gender Free Writer(GFW), MartialArts-Auth"The Spirit That Guides Us" "Noir AM""The Lottery" https://twitter.com/dropoutgorgeous