100/50 WORDS

You Can’t Have My Free Speech

Thrifty Word Challenge 100 Words #35: & 50 Words #56: Free Speech

Melissa R. Mendelson
The Bad Influence
Published in
3 min readSep 27, 2021

--

There is a shed near my building, where temperatures are being taken of staff coming into work. People from different departments including myself have been drafted to sit in the shed for two hours to do this, taking temperatures and entering staff into a database on an iPad. It could be a very long two hours, but I found something to make the time go by. And that is The Jordan B. Peterson Podcast, and the episode I listened to was, Free Speech and the Satirical Activist with guest Andrew Doyle.

As I sat in the shed for two hours with the beautiful weather outside, I listened to the two men talk, and the world outside wasn’t as bright as the sun would make me believe. There were shadows creeping along, looking to claim anything that would shine a light over humor, truth, even compassion. These shadows would rather you believe that they are all that existed, and that the light is wrong. The light would burn you not heal you, and it could not be trusted. And it didn’t matter how much light shined over the darkness because some people believed that it were demons dressed as sunlight while angels danced in darkness, and people’s perceptions are beyond frightening because you can’t argue with them. Your words are…

--

--