100/50 WORDS

Zuck Off To Mars

Thrifty Word Challenge 100 #37 & 50 #58: Back-up Plan

Marla Bishop
The Bad Influence
Published in
3 min readOct 11, 2021

--

Annie Spratt / Unsplash.com

(Last week’s outtage is) “preview of what will happen if anyone tries to regulate Facebook. Zuck will shut everything down, fly into space with Elon, and create a new society on Mars.” – Chris Hedges, TBI editor

I panicked when I realised I couldn’t contact some people on WhatsApp on Monday evening. I don’t have any other contact details for them I realised. If WhatsApp disappeared overnight, I could lose touch with them forever.

I hadn’t felt that anxious since I was 18 and waiting to be deflowered.

OK, I was 16.

Still, the panic was real.

I sent emails to everyone I had email addresses for and waited anxiously. No one responded and eventually I had to go to bed, where I slept extremely very fitfully.

The next morning I got a few replies, and by then WhatsApp Instagram and Facebook were back up and running.

It made me think though: What would happen if three major social media platforms disappeared?

“The platforms being down reinforced for me that we can’t be reliant on one space for our needs. Whether it’s marketing or keeping in touch with friends, it’s never a bad idea to…

--

--

Marla Bishop
The Bad Influence

Londoner, philosophy graduate, journalist, relationship coach, wife & mother. MA in Novel Writing; working on 1st novel. Follow me: https://linktr.ee/Marla