I Am Running Half a Dozen Blogging Experiments on My Sites

These are the experiments and what I’m hoping to learn

Christopher Kokoski
The Bald Writer

--

Cartoon scientist holding up a beaker — I Am Running Half a Dozen Blogging Experiments on My Sites
Image by the Author using DALL-E and Canva

I am currently running six experiments on my websites to explore various aspects of blogging and optimize my results. In this article, I’ll discuss each experiment, explain why I am running it, and share what I might learn.

Experiment 1: Exploring the Optimal Content Length for Engagement and SEO

One of the critical factors in blogging success is finding the right balance of content length. Many experts believe that longer content ranks better on search engines.

But does that always hold true?

Does Size Really Matter?

In this experiment, I’m testing articles of varying lengths to determine the optimal length for engagement and SEO.

I’ve created three categories of content: short (800–1,200 words), medium (1,200–1,800 words), and long (2,500–3,500 words). I’m monitoring the performance of each category in terms of search engine rankings, organic traffic, user engagement, and social shares.

Why This Experiment Matters

Understanding the optimal content length is essential for several reasons.

First, it helps ensure that your content is comprehensive enough to address your target audience’s needs. Second, it can save you time and resources by helping you prioritize which content formats yield the best results.

Finally, identifying the right content length can improve your site’s overall SEO and user experience.

Experiment 2: Balancing Keyword Targeting for Maximum Impact

Keywords play a significant role in driving organic traffic to your blog.

Traditionally, bloggers have focused on targeting short, high-volume keywords. However, these keywords are often highly competitive and difficult to rank for.

Short and Long-tail Keywords

In this experiment, I’m exploring the benefits of targeting a mix of short and long-tail keywords to achieve a balance between search volume and competition.

I’ve divided my content into two groups:

  • One targets short, high-competition keywords
  • The other focuses on longer, low-competition keywords

I’ll monitor the performance of each group and assess the balance that provides the best results in terms of organic traffic and keyword rankings.

Why This Experiment Matters

This experiment is crucial because it will help me understand the right mix of short and long-tail keywords for my niche.

Finding this balance can lead to more targeted traffic, better search engine rankings, and a higher return on investment for my content marketing efforts.

Experiment 3: Identifying the Ideal Content Mix for Monetization and User Satisfaction

Monetizing your blog is an essential aspect of blogging.

But it’s vital to strike the right balance between affiliate and informational content.

A Mix of Affiliate vs Informational Topics

In this experiment, I’m testing various ratios of affiliate to informational content to determine the ideal mix for user satisfaction and monetization.

I’ve created three content groups with different affiliate-to-informational ratios, such as 25:75, 50:50, and 80:20. I’m tracking the performance of each group in terms of user engagement, bounce rate, conversion rate, and overall revenue.

Why This Experiment Matters

Understanding the optimal balance between the affiliate and informational content can help you maximize your blog’s revenue potential while maintaining user satisfaction.

Striking the right balance can lead to more engaged readers, higher conversions, and a more sustainable blogging business.

Experiment 4: Exploring Various Backlink Strategies for Better Rankings

Backlinks are a critical factor in improving search engine rankings, but not all backlinks are created equal.

Different Methods of Building Backlinks

In this experiment, I’m testing various backlink-building strategies to understand their effectiveness in driving organic traffic and improving search engine rankings.

I’ve divided my backlink-building efforts into four categories:

  • Guest posting
  • Outreach for resource pages and broken links
  • Social media promotion
  • Organic links

I’ll track the performance of each method in terms of the number and quality of backlinks acquired, as well as any impact on organic traffic and keyword rankings.

Why This Experiment Matters

This experiment matters because it will help me identify the most effective backlink-building methods for my niches.

By focusing on the strategies that yield the best results, I can optimize my time and resources, leading to higher search engine rankings and more organic traffic.

Experiment 5: Image Dense Vs. Image Light Content

Visual content can enhance user experience and improve engagement, but it can also impact page load times and, subsequently, SEO performance.

Assessing the Impact of Visual Content on User Engagement and SEO

In this experiment, I’m comparing the performance of image-dense content to image-light content to determine the optimal balance between visual appeal and technical performance.

I’ve created two content groups: one with a high number of images and the other with minimal images.

I’ll monitor the performance of each group in terms of user engagement metrics (time on page, bounce rate), social shares, and SEO rankings.

Why This Experiment Matters

This experiment will help me find the ideal balance between image density and technical performance, ensuring that my content is visually appealing without negatively impacting page load times or search engine rankings.

Experiment 6: Exploring the Potential of AI-Generated Content for Blogging Efficiency

Artificial intelligence has made significant advancements in recent years, and AI-generated content is becoming increasingly sophisticated.

AI-Produced Content

In this experiment, I’m testing the performance of AI-produced content compared to human-written content to determine its potential in enhancing blogging efficiency.

I’ve created two content groups: one with AI-generated articles and the other with human-written articles.

I’ll monitor the performance of each group in terms of user engagement metrics, SEO rankings, and overall content quality.

Why This Experiment Matters

This experiment is essential because it will help me understand the potential benefits and limitations of using AI-generated content for blogging.

If AI-produced content performs well, it could save time and resources by streamlining content creation.

However, if human-written content outperforms AI-generated content, it will be a valuable insight into the continued importance of human expertise in content creation.

Final Thoughts

Running these six experiments on my websites helps me uncover valuable insights into various aspects of blogging, from content length to monetization strategies.

The results of these experiments will not only help me optimize my own blogging efforts but will also provide valuable information for other bloggers seeking to improve their performance.

Stay tuned for updates on the outcomes of these experiments and the lessons learned from each.

Read This Next:

--

--

Christopher Kokoski
The Bald Writer

Endlessly curious| proud word nerd| Don’t miss my next article — sign up to my Medium email list: https://bit.ly/3yy18Bc