The Roots Picnic to Stream Online Hosted by Michelle Obama

Philadelphia’s Popular Festival Set to Stream Online for the First Time Hosted by Michelle Obama as Part of Vote Initiative

Miss Sable Mosley
The Baldwin
2 min readJun 16, 2020

--

Michelle Obama AP

Philadelphia is a political city, that’s made clear each election year.

But in the most recent years, holidays, and concerts are now being incorporated into politics too. I don’t mind. Most times, I agree with most of my city, and I like a lot of the talent that my city attracts. I especially love going to The Roots Picnics.

This Corona Pandemic is cramping my style.

Spokespeople for The Roots announced that the concert would be streamed live this year and would include a special appearance from Michelle Obama. For the first time, the iconic Hip Hop group is partnering with the Obamas and their nonpartisan organization When We All Vote, to get people to the polls in the fall to vote.

I am in agreeance with this because if we want change, the only way to do it is to actually vote.

I used to think that voting was useless and then Donald Trump became president of the United States of America.

A change is gonna come. At least, I hope so. I pray.

Courtesy of The Roots Instagram

The concert is going to feature performances from H.E.R., Lil Baby, Roddy Ricch, Sza, Kirk Franklin, and D-Nice, who has been giving me my life on Instagram as of late!

Other appearances include: Kerry Washington, Tracee Ellis Ross, Chris Paul, Tom Hanks, Janelle Monae, and Lin-Manuel Miranda.

The collaboration and timing may seem a little off. But it makes perfect sense. In a statement from The Roots, they said, “The partnership comes from a shared ethos of wanting to reach the most underrepresented community of people when it comes to voting, Black people between the ages of 21–35.”

This is the 13th year for the Roots Picnic. Set to be streamed on YouTube at 8 p.m. on Saturday, June 27th, it will be hosted by Michelle Obama, Questlove, and Black Thought.

--

--

Miss Sable Mosley
The Baldwin

Life and death is in the power of the tongue, so if you’re prolific with the pen, make sure you acknowledge the responsibility that comes with it. — Me.