Apple Card is about digital identity, not about payments.

Rik Coeckelbergs
The Banking Scene
Published in
7 min readApr 3, 2019

--

OK, you got me. You are right: I publicly stated that I would not write about AppleCard after reading this blog by Brian Roemmele. This was thus far the most complete and detailed post I found on the topic. From there on everything seemed to be said.

Most posts on Apple Card were talking on a rather superficial level about how cool the card is, or stating banks should be very afraid of this next step by Apple.

My first reaction on Apple Card

My first reaction on Apple Card was rather one of disappointment, and I was not the only one (Brett King said it on Linked, Bianca Lopes stated it on stage at Know Conference…). After all, in terms of payments experience, product design or pricing this was not the revolution like we know Apple.

Payments experience

Making a payment with a credit card remains pretty similar, and in some cases even worse. Imagine you would like to make a payment for an e-commerce transaction on a desktop and you need your card number, expiry date, and CCV code. For any other card, you pick the card and you tap the numbers (or just CCV if your desktop already knows the other data). Not with Apple card: you always need your phone because every new transaction generates a new virtual card number.I…

--

--

Rik Coeckelbergs
The Banking Scene

Independent advisor and opinion maker in banking and payments. Like my opinion, why not support it? https://rik-coeckelbergs.medium.com/membership