Veteran Vendor Highlight

Robert Dabney Jr
The Barracks
Published in
5 min readMar 9, 2021
Gable Eaton, US Marine

Please, introduce yourself and tell us a bit about your connection with the military?

My name is Gable Eaton and I’m originally from Oakland, CA.

As a Veteran of The United States Marines; my first assignment sent me to serve in Washington DC, making me an Official White House Marine.

I’ve been a vegan for nearly thirty years and enjoy Crossfit to stay in shape. Other than my family and friends, my joy is TeqTouch, my company.

I am forever grateful for my experience and today I am grateful for my military family and its support.

What brings you a sense of purpose today?

My greatest sense of purpose comes from building TeqTouch.

Each morning I wake up excited to work on my product(s), engage potential customers and build partnerships.

My personal mission is to build a company that benefits others and continue my service to my Country, as a Marine.

I believe that my greatest purpose is to be of service to others, and the opportunities created by my business allow me to accomplish this. That’s why I’m focused on being the best steward of my company and its resources.

Tell us more about your company?

I founded TeqTouch to produce my patented product the UTouch, a wearable tech accessory. This was created out of necessity, to protect users against germs on public touchscreens and touchpads.

From its inception, I knew TeqTouch had the DNA to become a sustainable company. Right now, it consists of myself and one partner, who’s serving in an advisory role.

We’ve recently developed relationships with small vendors who purchase products directly from the company, selling them in their marketplaces under specific terms of agreement.

My goal for the current month is hiring two team members to relieve me of a few of the many hats I wear.

What has surprised you on your journey into entrepreneurship?

I think I’ve surprised myself really!

Although, I always had a desire and knew that one day I would build a successful company.

I’m surprised how my passion for what I do grows each day. I mean this is hard work but it’s also meaningful work.

Today, I’m working a full time job but my soul only wants to work on building my company and getting our products out in front of the people who’d benefit most. Honestly, while at work I’m thinking about my company and my product(s) and counting the minutes until I can get busy with TeqTouch and work.

What makes UTouch the must have product for today?

We’ve recently experienced a tragic event together, a pandemic; caused by a germ. Germs that sit on surfaces: public touchscreens, touch pads at the grocery store, ATM’s, and any other shared public device.

Eventually, we’ll move past this pandemic, but germs will remain a problem. And with the advancements in technology, our chances of getting ill increases as we move toward more digital advancements (touchscreens everywhere). Just look around, airports, coffee shops, parking meters all require us to share these devices. UTouch will remain a relevant device!

The UTouch, now available at VetPark

What can we look forward to from TeqTouch?

Ahh!

TeqTouch was founded to provide expressive products that promote safe and healthy interaction with personal or public devices. I’m proud of that mission statement because it lets the public know there is more to come. UTouch is in its first iteration. We’re now entering the B2B stage for recurring revenue through corporate branding, selling units in bulk, allowing organizations to put their logos on our product for their functions and giveaways, as swag bag items.

After the branded component is set up, my plans to expand our B2B with our follow up product is something that will definitely create a more sustainable company with a recurring revenue model… and we have something planned for the gamers as well. TeqTouch is not a one shot, one product company. I enjoy what I do and I created a product and company to express that joy.

Any advice for Veteran’s thinking about going into business for themselves?

I surely do!

In business, I was always taught you need three people to be successful and they were a banker, an attorney and a CPA. Well, three more people should have been added. To succeed and to keep your sanity, you also need a mentor, someone who has successfully built a business ground up, hopefully twice and is willing to invest in you. Next you need a group… a mastermind group, a group of like minded individuals who are just as determined as you to build a business and are doing so, and most definitely, lastly you need an accountability peer. That is someone you will hold accountable in return, unlike a mentor this person is in the process with you, maybe one step behind you, or two steps in front of you. Your task is to keep each other on task by questioning each other’s process, that you both are holding each other accountable makes this an encouraging peer to peer relationship around your actions for growth. Finally, as a veteran I would highly encourage them to head over to Bunker Labs Online and build relationships. Bunker Labs Online is there for the Veteran Entrepreneur. The organization has been a part of TeqTouch shortly after I founded the company and I do not think I would be where I am today in terms of relationships and sales were it not for my collaborations with Bunker Labs, heck I am doing this interview because of a relationship developed at Bunker Labs. So, to that Veteran thinking of exercising that entrepreneurial muscle, start at Bunker Labs!

To learn more about VetPark and how we’re getting Veteran’s back into the fight of life, check us out at www.vetpark.us

Questions/Comments: info@vetpark.us

--

--

Robert Dabney Jr
The Barracks

My ultimate mission is much larger than being a writer. I’m a storyteller changing the World. Join me!| IG: @rjscribblez | @vetprk