The Batali Inquisition: Adam Rapoport 

The always-stylish Bon Appetit editor-in-chief is all about balance

Mario Batali
The Batali Inquisition

--

When is your favorite time of day?

So this is finally where I get to use the phrase “the gloaming.” Preferably with my first vodka-soda of the evening in hand.

Where do you sleep best?

In a king-size hotel bed with a ginormous comforter and black-out curtains.

What is the best way to recharge your batteries?

Lunch-time studio cycling class at the gym near my office — or, what some folks might call “spinning.”

Where do you most successfully use your energy?

At work, before lunch. I’m fairly useless in the afternoon.

Where do you waste the most energy?

Weekend days in the city. I’m never quite sure what to do with myself.

When are you most depleted?

Right now. Lingering effects of a too-long weekend in New Orleans.

What is the last thing you ate?

Hummus with warm, fermented favas, hard-boiled egg and a cilantro hot sauce; Israeli cucumber-tomato salad on the side. Warm, fresh pita.

Rapo’s Selfie at Bon Appetit’s headquarters in Time Square

When are you hungry?

Lunch. But I’m only relaxed enough to really eat once I get my six-year-old to bed.

What was the last thing you cooked?

A couple of nights ago, I had a bunch of friends over for dinner in the backyard. We had dry-aged bone-in rib-eyes on the grill, carrot-pistachio salad (like they make at Buvette), farro salad with grilled cherry tomatoes and ramps and a mess of herbs, some greenmarket asparagus with oil and lemon, and then for dessert, market strawberries with freshly whipped cream. And yes, a couple of my pals helped out in the kitchen.

If you were a food, what would you be?

Avocado, a) Because I love ‘em. And b) because, I guess, they at once seem really good for you but also indulgent and kind of bad for you. Balance.

Describe the perfect meal, what and where?

See answer two questions ago.

What is your favorite Olympic event?

Um, yeah, no.

What was the last live performance you saw?

Does my kid’s winter concert count?

With which artist of all time do you most identify?

Fairly obsessed with how absurdly cool and stylish Egon Schiele was, way back in the 19-teens.

Who is your favorite literary character?

I’m having a Fantastic Mr. Fox moment.

What is your favorite method of travel?

I finally bought a bike last year. Makes you see and enjoy NYC in a completely new way.

What is your favorite vacation spot?

For me, vacation is all about the lunch table—rosé in a bucket brimming with ice water, buffalo mozzarella with ripe tomatoes, spaghetti pesto, good friends, a view. So, I guess that could mean the North Fork of Long Island or the Italian Riviera.

Where would you live if you could live anywhere?

I’m pretty happy with my apartment in New York. Not looking to trade it in.

What is your favorite luxury?

Really good/bad Chinese food being delivered to my door in, like, three minutes after hanging up the phone.

Bonus Question: What is your favorite non-cookbook book about food. Who wrote it and why?

Click here to see Adam Rapoport’s answer.

--

--

Mario Batali
The Batali Inquisition

Food, like most things, is best when left to its own simple beauty.