The Batali Inquisition: Jim Courier

He may not cook as well as he plays tennis, but this phenom knows his way around a grill…

Mario Batali
The Batali Inquisition

--

When is your favorite time of day?

Sunset.

Where do you sleep best?

Next to my wife, Susanna.

What is the best way to recharge your batteries?

Strumming a guitar or spending time on a golf course with my family and friends.

Where is your energy most successfully applied?

Problem solving. Whether it’s a work or personal issue or something at home that is broken, I like fixing things. I’m not too good at sitting around.

Where do you waste the most energy?

Getting frustrated at things I can’t control, like the latest news.

When are you most depleted?

When I am jet-lagged.

Courier in his apartment in NOHO — August 2nd, 2014.

What was the last thing you ate?

Chicken tacos. They were simple and delicious.

When are you hungry?

Exercise is the usual trigger. I don’t work out as hard as I used to in my younger days, but thankfully my body doesn’t ask for as much food as it did then, either.

What was the last thing you cooked?

Steak on the outdoor BBQ. My cooking skills may be limited, but I can handle a grill just fine.

If you were a food, what would you be?

A kiwi. A little tough skinned on the exterior, but if you can get past that it gets better.

Describe the perfect meal. What and where?

I have more than a few perfect meals that I can’t do without, but the last perfect meal I had was in Paris at Allard with my wife and some great friends: steak au poivre, red wine. Divine.

What is your favorite Olympic event?

I am a sucker for the platform high-dive competition during the Summer Games and the super-G downhill skiing in the Winter Games. I guess I gravitate to individual sports.

What was the last live performance you saw?

Carolina Chocolate Drops and Steep Canyon Rangers at a charity event. I’m not typically big on bluegrass, but they are incredible musicians.

With which artist of all time do you most identify?

Jackson Pollock. I play tennis like he painted.

Who is your favorite literary character?

John Grady Cole of Cormac McCarthy’s All the Pretty Horses.

What is your favorite method of travel?

On foot. Our New York City apartment offers an amazing world outside of our doors to explore and we love to take advantage of it by walking all around.

What is your favorite vacation spot?

Italy, in particular the Amalfi Coast.

Where would you live if you could live anywhere?

Capetown, South Africa, if it were a little closer, safer, and if my family and friends all lived there.

What food do you want served at your funeral?

Something upbeat, festive and relaxed sounds good. I am thinking a Mexican food truck with street corn, soft tacos, fresh guacamole, and margaritas would be a nice way for people to come have a good time and reminisce.

What is your favorite luxury?

Time…the ultimate luxury. And good coffee.

Bonus question: Where is your favorite place to play any game or sport and what game or sport is it?

Click here to see Jim Courier’s answer

--

--

Mario Batali
The Batali Inquisition

Food, like most things, is best when left to its own simple beauty.