Is Scott Pilgrim vs. the World the Most Incel Movie I’ve Seen This Year?

To be honest, I may not have seen a lot of movies this year

Broni Glez
The Bathroom Confessions

--

Picture from “Scott Pilgrim vs. the World”. Credit to Universal Pictures

I recently watched Scott Pilgrim vs. the World and, while I really enjoyed how the movie was made (the music, the actors, the comic style, the video game references!), I hated everything else.

For full disclosure: I managed to watch it for the first time just a week ago, and I didn’t know anything about Scott Pilgrim comics or whatsoever before.

So when I finished the movie I was like, “Wow, this is inceler than I imagined.”

(Disclaimer: This article contains spoilers for the movie Scott Pilgrim vs. the World)

The whole plot is wicked

But like, in a bad sense. So we have Michael Cera playing Michael Cera portraying a guy who doesn’t seem to be interested in having a job that is also kind of dating a teenage girl. Ew.

Then the guy randomly dreams of a girl (allegedly his same age) and gets obsessed with her since he meets her in real life.

However, he’s a sucker and fails to tell his teenage girlfriend (who obviously idolizes him because of the crooked power disbalance) that he wants to dump her, so he keeps ignoring her and cheating…

--

--

Broni Glez
The Bathroom Confessions

(She/her) Top writer or one-hit wonder? I like venting and confessing things. I take myself too seriously or not at all. Editor of The Bathroom Confessions