Guest Writer Haelie Egbert: More than A Class, PUBAFRS 2630

Haelie Egbert is a senior at The Ohio State University and is the Veteran Community Advocate for OSU Battelle Center for Science, Engineering, and Public Policy in the John Glenn College of Public Affairs. We asked Haelie to talk about her experiences in the military and why she thinks PUBAFRS 2630, Contemporary Civil-Military Relations in the United States, is a valuable course for anyone interacting with members of the military and for members of the military integrating into civilian life.

While we are all aware of what the military does based upon what we read/see in the various media, we often fail to look at it from the military member’s perspective. What is it really like to be in the military? What is it like trying to reintegrate with society upon the end of a person’s military career? I can only provide a very small perspective into the diverse and complex community of the military. But I hope, through my personal experiences, you are compelled to know more. Not only to become a better public policy creator and leader, but as a way to better connect with veteran and military members within your own community.

Contemporary Civil-Military Relations in the United States (PUBARS 2630) provides a unique way to bridge the gap between military and civilian citizens. For anyone interested in public policy, I believe this class to be an integral part of your curriculum.

I became a member of the Air Force National Guard my sophomore year at Ohio State. While part of me did it because I wanted to serve my country, another part of me did it because I needed money for school and wanted more experience. I work as a jet engine mechanic on F-16 aircraft, meaning I get to have a very integral part in what makes the jets fly. Despite me being in the military, I am still able to go to school and finish my degree.

We all have different backgrounds and reasons for joining. While we often think of the military as this big machine full of people who do what they’re told, on a smaller level we’re all people performing a job. Though we may sometimes be called to make sacrifices different than the normal citizen, we are still similar in many ways. We have families, children, and pets. We have goals and dreams that may take place outside of the military world. Some of us have degrees, and some of us even work and attend school at the same time.

While the military has several branches that most of us know, there are also several different components within each branch. With all these different parts of such a very dynamic organization, comes a lot of rules and regulations on how each part works and is able to be used. As a member of the National Guard myself, I can attest to the fact that even I do not understand all of it. I can also admit that several of my active duty friends are not even aware of the National Guard and Reserves existing. If these terms are foreign to you as well, I encourage you to take this class to learn more.

The media likes to portray all military members as the ones on the front lines, flying the planes or fighting the bad guys. But did you know that a small percentage of the military actually sees combat? Of the military, only 1% are considered combat arms, and only 10% of combat arms will ever see combat. If I had a dollar for every time a friend of mine asked if I carry a gun at work, I’d be rich. This class educates the student on how to interact with veteran and military members. While a question might seem simple, we often don’t know what sort of memories it could bring back for the person being asked. If you want to learn how to engage with your peers in a more mindful and intellectual way, then please take this class. Some of us enjoy talking about our careers and doing so with people who understand makes it much easier to open up.

Trying to reintegrate into society after military service can be difficult. You go from someone telling you what to do and how to do it every minute of the day, to suddenly having an enormous amount of freedom. For me, getting deployed and coming back often made it difficult to make new friends in my classes. I went from seeing the same students every day to now being behind, watching them all graduate from the stands. It wasn’t until I joined more student organizations and got involved more in my community that I started to feel like I was a part of the OSU community again. To all my veteran and military students, I encourage you to consider taking this class as a way to help you meet more like minded students who are excited to learn from you. Use this as an opportunity to talk about the things you were able to accomplish and voice your opinion on things you wish could be different.

The main thing I hope for people to get from this course is that, while we may have had life experiences far different from one another, at our very core we are all human. Understanding and communication are two key factors for anyone interested in public policy; this class provides a unique perspective on the development of those characteristics and how they apply to military related matters.

--

--

OSU’s Battelle Center
The Battelle Center for Science, Engineering, and Public Policy

Part of the John Glenn College of Public Affairs, our mission is to to build the capacity for innovation and systems-thinking for nationally critical industries