About The Creator

Fabian Ardaya
The Battle For Arizona Avenue
2 min readNov 8, 2016

--

I was in the first grade the first time I heard about the rivalry. My friend at the time, who knew he was destined to go to Hamilton, tried to incite a conversation with me about the fact that I was zoned and slated to go to Chandler High School.

It was at about that age that sports would take a firm hold of my life. It hasn’t let go since, taking me through high school to where I am now — about to graduate from Arizona State University’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication with a B.A. in sports journalism.

Of course, I took some stops along the way. Every chance I could, I made the most of my opportunities in sports journalism. That took me to CTownRivals.com, a newly-found website that worked to be the best in covering sports within the Chandler area. It was at that time that I truly embraced the Battle For Arizona Avenue and got to appreciate the history behind it.

That remained with me, even when I graduated from Chandler High School in the class of 2014 and went off to college. In my time, my work has been published in places such as The State Press, The Arizona Republic, Rivals.com, Sports Illustrated’s Campus Rush and MLB.com. When it came time for me to write my senior thesis, it was clear that the Battle For Arizona Avenue was the only thing for me to focus on.

--

--

Fabian Ardaya
The Battle For Arizona Avenue

Sports Journalism B.A. (Grad. May 2017) at Arizona State | Bylines: MLB.com, Campus Rush, Rivals, Arizona Republic, Arizona Sports