Dollar Dollar Bills

Nonye Ezeaka
The Pursuit of Balance
3 min readMar 25, 2020

Money!

The moment I got out of secondary school I developed a keen interest in making, keeping and growing money. As is consistent with my personality, I took in volumes of information and I made lots of plans.

Have those plans come to fruition yet?

No.

Did I ever begin any of those plans?

Yes.

All the gurus agree on one basic principle. To become rich, you must spend less than you earn, save money and use some of the money that you earn to make more money. There are several gurus teaching different ways of going about this, but everything boils down to this one rule.

This is the only section of my life that is making any sense to me at the moment.

I can improve, but there is progress. And I have no one else to thank for this progress, but my very own Nigerian Company of the year every year, PiggyVest.

Before I started using PiggyVest, my entire financial life was in the bin. I was saving money in a different bank account that had a debit card. I don’t know why I thought it was smart at the time. I do know that I would save money for a time and then in between bank charges and my very sticky fingers, I would have nothing to show for all my ‘savings’ for months.

I created a PiggyVest account in November of 2017 after seeing a sponsored ad on Instagram. My financial life was in the bin and I felt I had nothing to lose. I didn’t actually start using PiggyVest until a couple of months into 2019. At this time, my financial life was falling deeper into the bin because I was still repeating the cycle of saving and using the money sooner rather than later. I started with the CoreSavings feature, but I continued stealing from myself in spite of the ‘breaking fee’.

A few more months into the year, school events were coming up. Events that no father of mine was going to fund. I started using Safelock to save towards my goals without taking out of the money. Needless to say, it worked great! When the events were just around the corner, I had saved up enough money for everything I needed to buy.

Apart from this, I didn’t make much head way in terms of savings last year. The best financial decision I took last year was using Investify on PiggyVest. I had come across investing in my research, but i just didn’t know how to break into it. PiggyVest showed me the way.

In December of 2019, I was very annoyed with myself. I was, for all practical purposes, poor. That birthed a new resolve. I made a new plan and took it very seriously. Safelock on PiggyVest is at the centre of my new plan and it is working great. It is working so well, that I can actually ‘forget’ any money I put in PiggyVest now, regardless of which account I put it in. The only disadvantage of my plan is that there is no provision for an emergency fund. So in these quarantine times, I am once again, for all practical purposes, broke.

I don’t think my father has any plan of giving me an allowance in April. If anybody has any ideas on how to convince him (logical ideas that show an abundance of intelligence), please let me know in the comments below or on any social media. If after all my efforts, he continues with his plans, I am going to be broke for a very long time.

Thankfully, God is my father too, so I will survive anyhow.

--

--

Nonye Ezeaka
The Pursuit of Balance

I create content for mission-aligned healthcare brands that help their target audience make better health decisions.