The Lose Weight at Home — Home Workout in 30 Days App.

Nonye Ezeaka
The Pursuit of Balance
3 min readDec 4, 2020

Spoiler alert: I didn’t finish it.

Photo credit: flawee.tumblr.com on Pinterest

Don’t be too disappointed. I promise I had a genuine reason for that.

The first few days of using this app and following this thirty-day challenge, I was bursting with energy. As I mentioned in the last installment of this publication, I was tired of letting myself down and not doing the things I tell myself I will do. I was determined to finish it.

As the reps steadily increased every three days, my energy started to wane. Regardless, I would push myself to finish my sets for the day every morning before I stepped out of my room.

One day, I had to travel and I forced myself to complete my sets for the day as soon as I woke up. Also before my mother caught me. That would have been another problem because we were short on time.

I continued like this for days. On day 15, I started feeling unnaturally tired. I completed my sets for the day and went in search of drugs. The following day, I was completely overrun with classic malaria symptoms. That night, I switched the exercises for the day to ones I could do lying-down (yes, you can reset your exercises for the day and also reduce or increase the number of reps on this app), then I did all of them on my bed.

The day after that, a similar stunt could not work. So I relaxed until I felt better somewhat. That took another three days.

I tried to get back on the challenge on day 22. I found out that I could not keep up. The energy I had steadily built up from day 1 had faded away. That was the point where I dropped it officially. I was convalescent after all. Decided to focus on nourishing my post-illness body instead.

The 30-day challenge is a great way to start. It comes with inbuilt Artificial Intelligence that guides you until your exercises for the day are complete. She (because mine is a girl) gives you tips on the exercise that you’re doing and tells you when it’s half the time. That is one feature that I found really helpful. It made me feel like I was working with a coach.

This app also allows you to track your progress with the exercises and your weight.

It comes with a diet section. I found it unrealistic. I can never, never eat like that.

There are other exercise packages on the app that are independent of the 30-day challenge and presumably easier.

I felt the reps were increased too fast. Your discipline level or strength must be insane to be able to keep up without pausing in between reps. That was probably part of the reason I couldn’t keep up at day 22 after missing so many days.

For my fifteen days of dedication, I only lost 0.5kg ☹️

0.5kg I have probably gained back since then.

After stopping this plan, I took a week off any kind of exercise.

I am currently on a cute “glow up challenge” I found on Pinterest. It’s by Kiwi’s Plan. I intend to do it until the end of the year.

I’m also sort of doing intermittent fasting, but with a sprinkle of intuitive eating. That just means that my time window is 12 pm to 6 pm, but if I get hungry by 10 am or 11 am, best believe I’m eating that food.

Restrictive eating is not the way!

Wish me luck!

--

--

Nonye Ezeaka
The Pursuit of Balance

I create content for mission-aligned healthcare brands that help their target audience make better health decisions.