The Boogey Man

Every person has an inner monster that they don’t like to reveal

A.j Thomas
The Bazaar of the Bizarre

--

I will never rid the monster,
That has come a knockin’,
Who has stolen away my peace,
Crept up on me like a thief,
Hidden in the shadows,
Snatching up all the light,
There is nothingness now,
Only but pitch-black darkness,
It lurks where you wouldn’t expect,
Around every corner,
I tiptoe through life,
In hopes I don’t wake it,
For when it sleeps,
My heart can breathe,
When it is at rest,
I have you,
The you that I know,
The you that I love,
For when the monster awakens,
My you disappears,
There is no more Mr. Nice Guy,
No more I love you’s,
Or affectionate words,
Spoken with loving passion,
Only vile malicious slurs,
Words spoken in hate,
Hiding the man that I know you can be,
Who you once were,
The one that I fell in love with,
Becomes smothered away,
I hide underneath the blanket,
Of the memories that we once shared,
All of the good times we used to have,
Are saved for another day,
When the boogey-man shows it’s ugly face,
And decides to come out to play.

--

--

A.j Thomas
The Bazaar of the Bizarre

Literary gutter vixen words of love and lust, sprinkled in pixie dust.