@tbqguy
1 min readApr 24, 2016

30 minutes of solitude

Premise

Recently, in the company we work we had a major overhaul of ERP System. That entailed large business & vendor teams coming.

Scenario

With the implementation now complete, team members are reporting back to their bases, since they had collocated to a central corporate office .

Now, as the dust is settling in, the real

challenge of change has begun. New process improvements, training & so on …

This has brought huge work load – my inbox is overflowing with more than 200 emails seeking my attention daily. I’ve to respond to these emails, in between attending meetings which occupy 2/3rd of my calendar time.

And then there are folks who just walk by, since they need inputs on critical business requirements related to governance, compliances, SOWs, support so-on & so-forth.

I’m sure this is life for most of the managers since organisations are more thinly staffed than ever & boon/ bane of BYOD ( depends on which side you are ) .

Resolution

With every day with increases the overwhelming expectations and inherent design of single-tasking, I’ve to come to conclusion that I should have moments of solitude in a cave during, in order to return to prioritise the happenings return to the resting place, often in days time.

Your thoughts?

Do you encounter similar scenario in your work life ? If yes, how do you manage to mange it ? I am interested on knowing.

@tbqguy

The Bearded Quirky Guy: The odd one at the intersection of Islam, Education, Behaviour, Technology & Consulting. It's within, not without!