My Favorite Macon Sound: Fountains, Espresso Machines, Pinecones and More

Katie Atkinson
The BearFaced Truth
2 min readMay 4, 2019

By Katie Atkinson

We asked Macon residents what sounds they would miss if they moved away

We asked Mercer University’s graduating seniors to share and describe the sounds they will miss when they move on from their college town of Macon, Georgia.

Laurel Huster said she loves the sound of the Cruz Plaza fountains.

“I just like it because you can’t see them sometimes, but you can hear them,” she said. “(They) remind me of campus.”

Claudia McMeekin said she will miss the game day atmosphere.

“My favorite Macon sound is whenever you’re at a football game and Mercer scores a touchdown,” she said.

McMeekin said she likes the sound of cheering, and the fireworks crackling in the sky.

Dylan Malamala is a graduating senior who gets sentimental at the sound of pinecones. She remembers walking on a trail lined with pinecones on her way to Five Star Stadium.

“I just really have a vivid memory of stepping on them and just hearing the crunch,” she said. “It’s a nostalgic thing.”

Adelia Henderson will miss the sounds of her favorite study spot: Z Beans Coffee Shop in Mercer Village.

“I like the sound of the machines whirring and you can see the coffee being made and also smell it,” she said. “I also like hearing all the people around you.”

Henderson said that the chatter makes her feel present and like she is living in the moment.

“I’m going to miss Macon,” Henderson said.

Song by Daniel Birch

--

--