Four Years ago, my Doctor called 911

Sam Song
The Beautiful Future
3 min readJun 27, 2017

I never thought a doctor could call 911. But mine did.

A few minutes later, a gurney made its entrance into the exam room with two paramedics in tow. They attached sensors to monitor my heart, strapped me into the gurney and off we went.

The stunned faces of patients waiting for their own appointment at the Kaiser Medical center waiting room tracked in unison my grand exit to the waiting ambulance. The flashing lights in their glorious display attracted the attention it was designed to attract. The wailing sirens, the busy paramedics monitoring my vitals, and the gentle rocking of the vehicle all made the whole experience surreal and transcendent.

That was four years ago today.

It took a week in the hospital and another month and a half in bed before I was able to walk more than a block without losing my breath. And a total of three months before I was able to take a slow road trip in solitude to reset my mind, body, and soul.

And it was during this pilgrimage, a seed was planted in my soul.

Two years later, on July 14, 2015, this seed began to sprout into its calling to step out to explore and create. And in this exploration, a mission to “Help People Help People” emerged with the launch of Yellow Ventures.

However, it was quickly realized that it was not prepared to weather the harshness of reality. It retreated back into the safe keeping of the soil until it would be time to sprout once again.

Today, this sprout is beginning to break ground again. The underground, invisible work had never stopped. The roots grew strong and deep. What’s different today is that this seed has found new soil.

On July 14, 2017, Yellow Ventures will become Visioneering Studios Ventures. Visioneering Studios for over 14 years have served people helping people through their Envision |Design |Build Process and Practice of Development Advisory, Architecture, and Construction. And they have decided to adopt Yellow Ventures as one of their own.

www.visioneeringstudiosventures.com

As I spent this day reflecting on the chaos of the season that was four years ago, of being helpless and incapable, the undervalued gift of mortality, and the difficult journey of recovering, I can’t help but be grateful.

As big of an opportunity Visioneering Studios Ventures is, for me to go after the call to Help People Help People, it simply is just that. An opportunity.

It’s an opportunity to be stewarded well through hard work and courage. It’s an opportunity to be a part of creating a more beautiful future with the numerous other companies that are already on Mission.

And yet, I am also reminded that I am blessed to have this day. To have another day to live, to love, to hope, and to believe we can create the beautiful future today.

--

--

Sam Song
The Beautiful Future

Explorer & Creator | Vice President of Ventures at Visioneering Studios