6 Reasons Why Asking for Help Doesn’t Make Us Weak or Inadequate

Ashley Broadwater
Beautiful Voyager
Published in
3 min readJul 14, 2020

--

A phone case on yellow leaves says “ASK MORE” on the back. #askforhelp #askingforhelp #autumn #fall #iphone #phonecase
Photo by Dan Gold on Unsplash

When I ask for help, I often feel like there’s something wrong with me or that I lack something. I feel insecure and inadequate. I’m scared that the person I ask will make a decision I disagree with or that I won’t understand the situation well enough.

However, I ask for help nearly every day. I hate dealing with “adult” tasks like figuring out insurance. I struggle with depression and anxiety, in which daily tasks and positive emotions can be difficult to handle, especially alone. I also know I’m not the best car parker or math problem completer, and that while I have my strengths, I have my weaknesses too.

I’m not alone, and neither are you. Research suggests that almost 70 percent of people need help each week, but don’t ask for it.

The reasons why are understandable. We haven’t seen others ask for help, so we’re not sure how to do it. We’re encouraged to complete tasks on our own, or its easier to do them ourselves.

But the main reason why we don’t ask for help is this: We’re scared.

What if asking for help is wrong? What if asking for help takes away our sense of control? What if someone deems us weak or stupid?

But we don’t need to feel ashamed about that fear and anxiety — it’s totally normal and it

--

--

Ashley Broadwater
Beautiful Voyager

Freelance writer on multiple platforms. On Medium: writing tips + relationships. UNC-CH Journalism + Media. Newsletter + more: www.linktr.ee/ashleybroadwater