My Plans to Celebrate the New Year; Safely and on a Budget:

Ambreen Shah
5 min readDec 30, 2021

--

https://numxl.com/blogs/happy-new-year-2022/

It has been two years since, I haven’t celebrated any holiday with my family without the fear of getting sick.

With COVID cases on rise, people are concerned for their health and the wellbeing of their loved ones.

Despite getting vaccinated, there is still a chance to get infected by the virus, especially with Omicron that is highly contagious.

In this scenario, many new year events has been cancelled. At this point, I am beyond frustrated because I do not want to socialize and catch something, I also do not want to spend money as I haven’t been working for the past six months. I was wondering what to do for new year, as I also do not have many options since my friends and family happen to be in a different time zones. After thinking for sometime, here is my plan to celebrate new year.

https://wp.technologyreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/zoom-call-associated-press-2.jpg

1. Make Video Calls to Friends and Family:

Since all of us will be celebrating new year in different time zones, it gives me an opportunity to celebrate new year at least two to three times. This means I can dress up for each video call and can set different themes for different parties. I plan on dressing up all dolled up for the family video call and with friends, I plan on having a pajama party. I plan on playing “never have I ever” the naughty version with my friends while counting down to the new year.

https://iulianionescu.com/wp-content/uploads/vision_board.jpg

2. Create a Vision Board:

Vision board is an excellent way to set one’s goals for the new year or the upcoming months. A vision board is simply one’s plans written on a paper or a pictorial of the plans. I plan on making SMART goals for this year. SMART is an acronym that stands for specific, measurable, attainable, realistic, and time bound. One mistake that I made previously was not making my goals SMART. For instance, I would write; get fit. However, for this year I plan on writing an exercise plan. Which includes 20 sit ups, and 20 curl ups three times each week. This way, it would be easier for me to track my progress.

https://bestanimations.com/gifs/Awesome-Colorful-Firework.html

3. Walk in the Backyard:

I also plan on walking in the backyard from where I can see some fireworks. I love fireworks, and I know there will be some firework enthusiast who will, like every year, go out of their way to put a display for the whole community. All I have to do is to face the right direction while being in the backyard.

4. Make a Slideshow: Happy memories only:

Year 2021 had its challenges, however, it is these challenges that make one strong. As this year is ending, all of us have accumulated some good memories and some not so pleasant memories as well. I plan on making a little movie using a mobile app showcasing the good memories of 2021. You can also play this cute little clip during the zoom part as well.

https://sweetshandmadecandies.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/PBL_3430_A.jpg

5. Movie Night:

How perfect it is to end this with a classic movie, wrapped up in my favorite fleece blanket munching on some caramel popcorn that I bought from after Christmas sale. Yeah! Now I just have to pick a genre, I have a feeling that it would be comedy.

https://thumbs.dreamstime.com/b/relaxed-years-old-housewife-pajamas-white-sheet-facial-mask-face-meditating-modern-living-room-sunny-winter-174428164.jpg

6. Meditate and Selfcare:

New year is the perfect time to shift one’s mindset from the negativity and unfortunate events. Although it is not easy, but meditation and some breath work prior to entering the new year might be beneficial to reset the unrelenting mind. Also, it is the best time to pick up the skincare sets from drugstores or the beauty shops as most of the stores are having after Christmas sale. I plan on sipping on some hot chocolate while I wait for my peel off mask to dry. You can also invite your roommate, partner, close family to join you.

https://www.hawtcelebs.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/04/kelly-monaco-in-underwear-on-dancing-with-the-stars-10th-anniversary-special_1.jpg

7. Incorporate Around the World Traditions into My Day:

There are many interesting traditions around the world that are believed to bring good luck to one’s life. I plan on incorporating these traditions in my day this year. In Italy throwing old items signifies making room for the new things as the year changes. I plan on getting rid of the clutter sitting on my nightstand. People in Netherlands eat doughnuts or ring shaped food for good luck. Welcoming the new year eating doughnuts sounds like a good idea. In Italy and Spain, people wear red underwear for luck, I plan on doing so as well and dance the night off. If you have a partner, you can also surprise them with some flirty dance moves wearing your red lingerie.

8. Watch the Sunset and Sunrise:

Who doesn’t love it when sky changes its color whether it is during the sunset or sunrise? Watching the sunset and the sunrise is also on my list of to-dos for the new year celebration. These little moments can fill one’s life with joy and without having to pay a penny for it.

Although new year celebration is subjective, there are people who like to celebrate the new year with a blast and then there are people who don’t believe in celebrating new year. No matter what group you belong to, new year is just a little holiday that gives one a chance to look back as reflect on the life as the world turns a new page. It is yet another chance to communicate with the family and friends and wish them luck. So here are my ideas to celebrate this opportunity safely and economically. I wish you all a very happy new year.

--

--

Ambreen Shah

read/ write/ think/learn/teach/make the world a better place!