7 Easy Ways to Practice Self-Care at Home

Don’t take the extra time you have now for granted. Turn it to a good advantage and upgrade your life.

Amy Huang
Beautiful Voyager
7 min readJun 3, 2020

--

Photo by Lesly Juarez on Unsplash

Before the pandemic, we wished we had more time to take care of ourselves. There is a Pinterest cookie recipe saved in your pin-board, a 40-minute workout routine in your Youtube watch later, and an old book on your shelf.

In our daily life, the idea of building better habits, learning new skills, and trying to improve ourselves is always on our mind. However, we are all doomed by the “I-don’t-have-the-time-for-this”-excuse.

Now that is quarantine where people are staying at home, having this extra amount of time, this type of excuse should not be the reason for procrastinating anymore. Start taking care of yourself — now.

The following self-care checklist I use mainly focuses on nourishing your body, mind, and finding joy in our everyday life.

1. Messy space, messy mind

Starting with the not-so-fun part of self-care, I know not everybody is a fan of vacuuming and organizing. Except for my mom, she is the type who needs to take a break from cleaning.

But on the other hand, when you are clearing up your space, you simultaneously clear up your mind. We all feel more motivated when we are in a tidy, well-arranged place.

After an afternoon of decluttering my wardrobe and sorting out expired spice-mixes in the kitchen, sitting down to write a blog post felt surprisingly effortless.

There is no need to become a minimalist and Marie-kondo everything by any means. When it comes to sorting out misplaced stuff in your drawer or getting rid of old, useless junk, clean what bothers YOU the most.

You might are okay with a messy wardrobe, but you feel disgusted by your bathroom. If that’s the case, get some gloves on, grab a bottle of cleaning product and remove those dirty little stains. Don’t be bothered by the wardrobe.

Try to find a way that makes cleaning more fun for you. While you are doing the work, have a playlist with boppin’ jams in the background, listen to a fun podcast, or face time with one of your family members. Having something entertaining on the side can make the process more enjoyable.

2. Start cooking and eat more mindfully

For my fellow friends who never cook, I just want to say: Not everyone is a great chef, but a great chef can come from anywhere!

Cooking is one of my biggest passions. Whether I cook for my family, friends, or myself, I always feel more accomplished afterward.

My tip is to start with something you enjoy eating and experiment with new recipes as the day goes on. Once you get started, you will notice how rewarding cooking can be.

In case you don’t know where to start, there are multiple free online resources for recipes with detailed instructions. Or why not ask your mom for a traditional family recipe?

Take time and enjoy your meal. We are not in a rush anymore where we have to quickly grab a bite and finish our lunch within ten minutes. Choose nutrition-dense food over instant noodles and be more mindful of what you eat and how you eat it.

You don’t have to be on a vegan diet or cut out snacks completely. If you had a green smoothie for breakfast and a well-balanced meal for dinner, don’t hesitate to grab some popcorn and crackers when watching a movie.

It feels good to indulge now and then. Just don’t overdo it; life is all about balance.

3. Take your supplements

If you have vitamin tablets, fish oil capsules, or probiotics lying somewhere in your house, make sure to check if they are expired. And if not, maybe you should consider taking them. Especially during this time where we barely leave our house, many of us have a vitamin D deficiency.

Place your supplements somewhere visible as a daily reminder for you to take them, maybe your nightstand or your work desk. Otherwise, you will soon forget about their existence.

4. A face mask for protection outdoor and a face mask for hydration indoor

Whether it’s your hair, your body, or your face, it’s time to take care of that body part we have been neglecting all the time.

Make use of your serums, scrubs, and hair oils. If you have a bathtub at home, take a stress-relieving bath and show your body some extra love.

Thanks to the “wash your hand” rule, I started to pay more attention to my hands’ skin. Now I have a bottle of lotion next to the sink so I can moisturize my hands right after washing them.

For inked friends: Have a tattoo aftercare routine. Try rubbing on coconut oil on your tattoo and let it shine.

Just because we are all staying at home doesn’t mean we don’t need to take care of our appearance anymore. Keep your skin healthy and pamper yourself.

5. Turn your living room into your gym

I am no fitness-guru by any means. But did you know there are “home-walking” workouts on YouTube?

A good friend of mine introduced me to this. She is a girl who works out regularly and is currently challenging herself to try out various kinds of at-home workouts every day.

Don’t slack off because you are at home. If you are someone whose cardio session mainly relied on walking on the treadmill, maybe it’s time to try out rope-skipping or hip hop dancing.

If you are new to exercising, search for follow-along workout videos on YouTube or download a fitness app. Many fitness bloggers and personal trainers are coming up with new, fun exercise ideas and quarantine-friendly workouts you can try right now.

My cousin, a fitness newbie, did a live workout session with her friends via video call. I made use of my big mirror and started learning K-Pop dances. We are at home anyway, who cares how silly your workout routine is. As long as you are getting a good sweat and having fun with it, do it!

6. Try something new. You might surprise yourself

“We don’t know who we are until we see what can we do.” — Martha Grimes

Don’t waste your time wholly on browsing social media and watching Netflix. Now you have the time to explore and experiment. So why not pick up a new hobby?

Maybe there is a skill you want to learn. It could be picking up a foreign language, learning how to sketch, or getting better at writing. Give your side interest a shot and see how it affects you.

In my case, I was always eager to become a better writer and a great food photographer. However, like many others, I never did anything actively to improve my skills.

A week ago, I got myself a mirrorless camera, signed up for adobe lightroom, and started writing blog posts. The only way to get better at something is to start practicing today.

The best thing about exploring new hobbies is that you never know where it will take you. Writing articles on Medium led me into reading more books, something I neglected for a long time. I am not a book lover, but I am aware of the fact that if I want to get better at writing, reading is essential.

Many things are waiting for you to explore. Seek inspiration in everyday life and never limit your options when it comes to new activities.

7. Give yourself a break

“When you recover or discover something that nourishes your soul and brings joy, care enough about yourself to make room for it in your life.” — Jean Shinoda Bolen

You don’t need to feel obligated to make a list or keep busy during your time at home. I encourage everybody to explore themselves. But it’s also important not to be overwhelmed by all the latest activities.

Many of us are working from home or taking online classes. People still have their duties as an employee or as a student. All the deadlines, projects, and exams are still there. We are in quarantine, not on vacation.

Some days, you might pull an all-nighter and binge-watch your favorite Netflix show. Some days, you will find yourself playing Animal Crossing all day and drinking wine at two in the afternoon. It’s okay to slack off; sometimes, that’s the fun part.

Just because I got myself into reading and writing doesn’t mean I am doing it every day. I have a schedule. I try to focus on one thing at a time and do well on it. I change up my routines if I get bored. It is essential to be flexible and adjust your life accordingly.

Self-care is not about being productive all the time. It’s not about pressuring yourself into new activities. It’s about finding a balance between working and indulging, so don’t be too hard on yourself.

I have shared some ideas here, but your heart might lead you somewhere else. Explore it. Follow it.

--

--

Amy Huang
Beautiful Voyager

Personal Growth & Self-Awareness. I drink water on the rocks and turn complex thoughts into simple words—a less profound and healthier version of Hemingway.