Welcome to The Bee Side!

Elaine Bell
The Bee Side
Published in
2 min readJul 11, 2012

In a former life, I worked in radio: everything from DJing to copywriting to remote broadcasts to freaking switchboard. Eventually, I was a music director for a medium market radio station. It was fun for a while. Then I became a parent and priorities changed. So I left radio and moved on.

I don’t miss the lousy pay, but I do miss that passion for discussing and sharing music that triggered my interest in radio in the first place. Like many kids in the 80s, I spent a lot of time listening to late night radio, be it commercial or the CBC. I made mixed tapes for my friends and kept a pile of dog-eared Music Express magazines in my closet. I was an obnoxious authority on all things pop, rock and alternative and drove everyone nuts. Today, when I listen to Strombo’s show on CBC Radio 2 or a Radio3 program, I remember why I got into radio to begin with and wonder what happened to that girl. Because I kind of miss her.

So that’s the point of this blog. I love throwing up links of great tunes on Facebook or Twitter whenever the mood strikes. But I never quite have a chance to really talk about why a song resonates with me, or drives me around the bend. I also hope to use this blog as a way to share some of my new discoveries and talk about great gigs I’ve attended (which of course means I need to get out more often in order to write about them.)

So please drop by often and let me know what you think. I’m back to making mixed tapes. Just in blog form.

--

--