Becoming Grassfed Day 47: Mycological Journeys & Harry Guy’s Jungle Remedies

Grassfed
Becoming Grassfed
Published in
6 min readNov 22, 2016

--

11/21/16

San Ignacio, Belize

Another beautiful morning, birds singing through the Maya Mountains…it is still a bit unreal that my life has brought me here, this is crazy. I took my time getting out of my room this morning, spent some time on the computer and talking to my mom. I bypassed breakfast and stuck to water, trying to flush out a bit of dinner last night.

I went on a mushroom hunting hike and took pictures of all that I found. I am very excited about Mycology, the opportunities are endless. I had a meeting with Harry Guy at 2, I thought it was 1 so I got downtown and waited for an hour. Harry is a very experienced herbalist that makes tonics for all types of ailments, I’ve never seen such a rate of success for curing.

View of SI from Santa Elena shortcut.jpg

I got showered and started walking towards town, if a bus or shuttle passed by I would’ve hopped in but for the most part, I was just enjoying the views and sounds of my walk. It was about 10 minutes into town and across the bridge, much shorter than I expected it to take. I stopped by the street carts and got my $1 bags of sliced pineapple and watermelon, pepitas, and went down to the front of the market to get my bag of coconut water. A quick dive into the market for 9 for $1 bananas. I love the healthy convenience…

--

--

Grassfed
Becoming Grassfed

Bringing the farmer, chef, herbalist, trainer, business owner, and consumer to the same table to develop a network of holistic-minded idividuals.