Introducing Darkroom 2.7

Majd Taby
Majd Taby
Mar 20, 2017 · 3 min read

Here’s Filter Backup & Restore Works

People repeatedly tell us in feedback how attached they become to their custom filters in Darkroom. Those filters, used time and again, have become an essential part of our customers’ online brands, and expression of their personality, and a core part of their photograhy life. That’s why we’re so excited to finally address one of the most requested features by our users with the launch of Filter Backup & Restore.

Other Big Little Changes

We’ve completely redesigned the Share experience, and we’ve renamed it to “Export”. Along the way, we’ve dropped sharing to explicit third party apps, and we’ve dropped the “Save as Square Photo” feature.

Full Release Notes

  • Added Backup and Restore for your custom filters! Now simply go to Settings and manually Backup your custom filter creations, and easily Restore when either upgrading to a new or extra device. The only requirement is an active iCloud account!
  • Renamed “Share” to “Export” for clarity. We also redesigned and simplified the export experience.
  • Removed the Save as Square and third-party share shortcuts from Export. You will find the same options under “Other Services”
  • Swapped out the custom font we used for Apple’s lovely system standard San Francisco font (https://developer.apple.com/fonts/).
  • All our in app icons have been updated to be a touch friendlier (softer corners), to be simpler (fewer objects), and where tweaked where possible to better explain their function.

Dispatches From Darkroom

Independent and Bootstrapped

Majd Taby

Written by

Majd Taby

Co-Founder/CEO: @usedarkroom. Producer & Writer, @syriandiaspora. Previously: Web and iOS @ IG, FB, and 

Dispatches From Darkroom

Independent and Bootstrapped