My Book Reviews: Pt1

Jakub Ferencik
The Best Books Out There
3 min readMar 14, 2020

Brene Brown, Ryan Holiday, & Del Kiernan-Lewis

I wanted to publish some book reviews.

I have so many book reviews on my Instagram page: @jakubreads

So, I thought I’d publish some on my Medium … cause why not?

I will be doing this as a series.

Let me know if you pick any up! Contact info at the bottom.

Source: Unsplash

Braving the Wilderness, Brene Brown

Source

I didn’t know who Brene Brown is before I read this book. I forget how I heard about her or why I picked this one up from the library. Pretty stoked that I did though. Brown provides very helpful advice on dealing with political correctness, differing political views, criticism, and what she calls the ‘wilderness,’ which is that lonely place we get into once we start disagreeing with others in our circle of friends/ family on their views. Most of us value our tribes. What do we do when we awake to the reality that our tribe is mistaken on everything we find important? Great book.

Obstacle Is The Way, Ryan Holiday

Ryan Holiday was probably my official introduction to Stoicism, the philosophical approach that concerns itself to live as if you are constantly aware that death is inevitable. Stoics do not fear tragedy, they rather accept it as much as they do anything else. I started reading”Meditations” by Marcus Aurelius because of Holiday, including philosophers such as Seneca and Epicurus. Great book & introduction.

Learning to Philosophize, Del Kiernan-Lewis

A lot of philosophy is overtly complicated. The presentation is the problem, similar to Jazz. What if philosophers became great at descending from the ivory towers and spreading critical thinking techniques to the average Joe? That is what I was thinking about as I was reading Del Kiernan-Lewis’ brief expose of the major themes of Logic. Such a great book.

Before you go…

🗣 I love connecting with fellow thinkers. Find me on Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, or Instagram.

I’d love if you’d share the article on Facebook/TWITTER if you want your friends to benefit from it in some way at all.

I write to keep you thinking and to keep me thankful and reflective. Cheers and until next time,

keep reflecting.

--

--

Jakub Ferencik
The Best Books Out There

Journalist in Prague | Author of “Up in the Air,” “Beyond Reason,” & "Surprised by Uncertainty" on AMAZON | MA McGill Uni | 750+ articles with 1+ mil. views