My Book Reviews: Pt8

Grayling, McChesney, and McAfee

Jakub Ferencik
The Best Books Out There
4 min readMar 30, 2020

--

I wanted to publish some book reviews

I have so many book reviews on my Instagram page: @jakubreads

So, I thought I’d publish some on my Medium … cause why not?

My previous post in this series:

Source: Unsplash

The God Argument, by A. C. Grayling

Source

I reread this book and was once more surprised by how clever and cogent A. C. Grayling’s arguments are. This is what a book written by a philosopher should look like.

The format of this book was different from what I am used to from books on Religion by Atheists. The first half is concerned with arguments Christian apologists make. Every argument is masterfully dismantled. The second half is concerned with how humanists should aspire to live. Grayling thus argues towards a life that, he defends, is more ethical than the religious alternative.

Grayling discusses euthanasia, the morality of the Bible, death, abortion, sex, love, drugs, stoicism, philosophy, & much more and most of it is very approachable. It is not a scholarly work by far, but it is still written by a scholar. Grayling is an authority on the issue and very well-respected.

If there is one book on Religion I’d recommend to a Christian, it would be this one. I’ve read Hitchens, Harris, Jacoby, Dawkins, Bertrand Russell, and other popular intellectuals on Religion, and I believe this to be the easiest, most approachable, finely crafted, and rounded book of them all. It serves as a great introduction.

Blowing the Roof Off the 21st-Century, by R. W. McChesney

Source

Robert W. McChesney is the Gutgsell Endowed Professor in the Department of Communication at the University of Illinois. He is the author of Digital Disconnect: How Capitalism Is Turning the Internet Against Democracy and, co-authored a book with John Nichols, Dollarocracy: How the Money and Media Election Complex is Destroying America, among other books.

I plan on reading much more by Prof. McChesney. His work has been dubbed by Noam Chomsky himself as of “extraordinary importance.” Similarly Bernie Sanders writes: “McChesney shines a bright light on what the wealthy and powerful want to remain hidden. While I many not agree with every one of his conclusions, few have shown as powerfully how American democracy is at risk in the 21st century.”

Robert McChesney criticizes the prison system in the states, the military budget, the 1% of American society (the wealthy), & much more. I learned a lot by reading this book.

As a PPE (Philosophy, Politics, Economics) student, I thought this book covered a lot of what I personally find interesting & worth understanding. Fantastic book! As revolutionary as Noam Chomsky’s work.

Mom, Dad, I’m an Atheist, by David G McAfee

Source

A couple of hundred years ago it was morally acceptable to own slaves. This act is now almost universally condemned. Jews have been persecuted throughout the Christian era, as have pagans, Muslims, & atheists. David Hume — not allowed to ‘come out’ as an atheist — was not given a position at the University of Edinburgh because he was agnostic. Betrand Russell was not allowed a teaching position in New York due to his outspoken stance on Religion & sexual morality.

It is generally still assumed that people are religious or spiritual in many cultures. Atheism is often considered to be an immoral worldview. It is assumed that people choose to be non-religious to indulge in all sorts of debauchery & godlessness. David G McAfree does a great job at explaining why that’s not the case. He explains atheism in 101 terms. He gives personal experience of being discriminated due to his atheism. Furthermore, he provides a guide to come out to your parents, friends, & family

This is a very practical book. I wish I would have had it when I “came out” to my parents. I was lucky that I wasn’t living at their house, was overseas, and didn’t actually know when I’d see them. My community of friends did not also depend on a Church at the time since I wasn’t going to church.

Many kids are facing drastically different circumstances. Being an atheist is a courageous action if you are raised in those circumstances. You are expected to follow these principles & will face disappointment if you don’t. I urge you to consider being honest about your absence of belief. It helps others have the freedom to do so themselves.

Before you go…

🗣 I love connecting with fellow thinkers. Find me on Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, or Instagram.

I’d love if you’d share the article on Facebook/TWITTER if you want your friends to benefit from it in some way at all.

I write to keep you thinking and to keep me thankful and reflective. Cheers and until next time,

keep reflecting.

--

--

Jakub Ferencik
The Best Books Out There

Journalist in Prague | Author of “Up in the Air,” “Beyond Reason,” & "Surprised by Uncertainty" on AMAZON | MA McGill Uni | 750+ articles with 1+ mil. views