From a 21st Century Christian

Abbigail Gunter
The Bible: From a Teenage Perspective
2 min readDec 14, 2018

One topic that is often debated between many christians is what christian music should sound like. Some like to cling to the old ways with hymns and slower worship songs, while others prefer the new style of music and think that christian music should be brought back to the 21st century.

While I understand why some christians would like to cling to the old ways I do not agree when they say that some of the newer songs are a “disgrace”. I think that old style songs and stereotypical christian songs are fine especially for church worship. Some people prefer that style of music and I think that is okay. However, As a 21st century christian, I think there is too much of a difference between christian songs and normal songs. If I were to play a christian song to a group of people and they didn’t know what is was I’m almost positive that at least 80% of them would guess it’s a christian song.

I am not saying that the songs we have now are bad and I am not saying that it’s not okay to stick out a little bit. I think that with everything else improving and changing as the years go by it wouldn’t hurt for a little change in christian music you know, shake things up a bit. I think God would understand if we wanted to have some fun with a variety of music to worship him with because right now they all sound the same.

Some people are scared away from listening to christian music and instead go listen to the popular music which is usually not good stuff to be listening to. People avoid it because they want to listen to happy upbeat songs and song they can relate too. Old christian music that is used for worshipping is not exactly what I would go to if I just wanted play some music and improve my mood. As it is now most christian music is struggling to be a bit more normal for our time period and this makes is less attractive for people especially teens.

A little more diversity in christian music wouldn’t hurt. We can still keep the old songs and still have more like them, not all christian songs have to change. However, I think it would be beneficial to have a few more christian song that are more attracting for people who prefer different types of music

--

--