Thats What Jesus Would Freaking Do.

Abbigail Gunter
The Bible: From a Teenage Perspective
3 min readDec 14, 2018

A new challenge has come up in my life and I know that there are so many people who are experiencing the same thing. So many people are getting confused and caught up in all the wrong ideas. My thoughts and beliefs on this subject will definitely be a little controversial but it has to be said. I am about to make myself really uncomfortable, but here it goes. What does the bible say about the gay/lesbian community? I decided to look further into this topic my freshman and more recently when I found myself being close friends with a transgender and a bisexual. I didn’t know what I should think about it all I knew was what almost every other christian said, and that despite what they said I valued my friends and I didn’t want to have to go against them.

I looked into the subject, talked to some people, and I prayed about it and i’ve finally come up with my answer. Yes, it is against the bible but that does not mean we get to condone anyone for it. First of all, it is not a sin to be gay if you are attracted to people of the same gender then I guess that’s just how it is. However, it is a sin to act on that and actually become romantically involved with someone of the same gender. Second even if someone does decide to do this despite it being against the bible or not that does not make them any less of a human than the rest of us.

“There is no one who is righteous, not even one” -Romans 3:10

The bible states that in God’s eyes all sins are equal. weather you rob a bank or call someone a name it doesn’t matter. Everyone sins, every single day of our life, Even the most perfect and nicest person in the world sins daily. There is no avoiding it ever since evil has entered the world. The bible also says that “You shall love your neighbor as yourself.” By mistreating, shunning, and judging gays, christians are committing sins every day. God wants us to love everyone just as he loves everyone, there are no exceptions to that. If both groups are continuously sining every day and in Gods eyes all sins are then that makes us equals. They do not deserve to be judged because we are equals in the eyes of God and if anyone is going to accuse them of going against the bible then they should take a look at themselves first and have realize that they are in the exact same position and have no right to judge.

God forgives everyone it says in the bible that he is a forgiving God. Everyone does bad things everyday and God still loves everyone unconditionally. Even if someone is gay, even if it is against the Bible they shouldn’t be judged or treated harshly because that doesn’t make them different from anyone else. God still lives them the same as he does everyone else.

People need to stop saying they are going against the Bible, because everyone is going against the Bible everyday. They need to stop treating them harshly and instead love them because that’s what Jesus would freaking do!

Citations:

The Bible. Oxford University Press, 2004.

--

--