Yea That’s Right I’m Christian

Abbigail Gunter
The Bible: From a Teenage Perspective
3 min readDec 14, 2018

I suppose if i’m going to be talking about the bible and my interpretation of it, I should probably talk about my personal experience with Christianity. Honestly, its not very interesting and pretty average but we have to keep in mind that i’m a very average person so I am doing the best I can. Anyways, I come from a very religious family. My uncle is a pastor who is currently moving to Africa to teach other pastors how to pastor, my mom works at the church and is in charge of kids ministry, and as long as I can remember we’ve gone to church every Sunday. I grew up in my church so it’s the only thing i’ve ever known. My family started going to the church we currently go to when I was in kindergarten I believe. When I was in second grade I was baptized by my uncle and when I was in third grade my mom got a job at the church. Ever since then we have been very involved in the church.Even though I haven’t started truly understanding what I was getting myself into until I was in middle school, the church has always taken up a part of my life.

Growing up in a very Christian community the church was basically my second home. I know a lot of people there and most of the people that work there. Our church is very big so it can be a bit overwhelming for people who come from smaller more close community churches. The people at our church, however, are very welcoming and are good at making you feel like you belong.

when I was a freshman in high school I went on my first mission trip. It was a group of mostly teenagers with 3 adults who worked at the church and we went down to Huston, Texas over Spring break. The goal of the trip was to help with cleaning and repairing in some of the communities that really need help because of the flood. I am not the best with words so I won’t be able to explain my experience in Huston very well, but it was an amazing experience for me. At the time I had just started doubting my own faith in God and I was having a hard time with my family, it was a mess. Then I almost didn’t go on the trip because I had soccer. I ended up deciding to go anyways and i’m glad I did. We met people there with so much love and compassion in their hearts. They welcomed us, complete strangers, into their homes and told us their story. I met some amazing people during my trip and it really changed me.

This year I am a sophomore in high school, I still go to the same church every Sunday. A lot has happened since I first started going there, some people left, new people came, I’ve met new people. I didn’t even know most of the people I talk to now existed a few years ago. I Started serving in the children's ministry and I have a permanent spot teaching a group of second graders. I’m not serving in the same place that my mom is working because as a teenager I needed to make sure that it was something I earned myself and if I wasn’t good at it they would kick me out. They haven’t kicked me out yet, so i must be doing something right. I go to youth group on Wednesday night now which is something I haven’t done since I was in 6th grade. I am not very close with the girls my age that go to my church so Youth can get a bit awkward for me but i’m sure it’ll get better eventually.

I am happy that I was able to share my story and I hope it’s not as boring as I think it is. Christianity is basically my life and has been since I was a child so i’m super excited to be able to share it with other people.

--

--