The Conscious Dimensions of Reality

A Vedic Analysis

Prudence Louise
The Big Think


Photo by Michael Dziedzic on Unsplash

You can read all my articles for free on my website

Conscious experience is the essence of reality.

Reality is that which is undeniable, and consciousness is exactly that. The very denial of consciousness presupposes its existence.

Vedanta philosophy begins and ends with consciousness. According to Vedanta, consciousness encompasses four states or dimensions. Each dimension represents a deeper and more profound experience of reality.

It’s important to keep in mind this isn’t a description of psychological states. Vedanta isn’t analysing the contents of consciousness, or the various experiences we may have.

This is an ontological analysis. Ontology is the study of existence in the broadest and most general sense. It’s concerned with universal categories of things that exist, rather than particular instances of those universal categories.

Consider a familiar example: the knowledge of physics. The physical is a broad universal category, and within that category we have a variety of particular instances of physical stuff. Chairs, stars, clouds, all these things come under the category of physical.