All the Books I Bought in 2016

Because my Best Self spends more money on books.

Nicole Dieker
The Billfold

--

I’m going to do a longer Best Self review tomorrow, but today I want to look at just one aspect of my 2016 Best Self goals:

So how’d I do? Let’s look at all the books I bought in 2016 and find out.

(I’m only including books I bought for myself, because I don’t want to spoil anyone’s holiday surprises.)

Everything I bought at Phinney Books, my neighborhood independent bookstore:

  • Shonda Rhimes: A Year of Yes: How to Dance It Out, Stand In the Sun and Be Your Own Person
  • Louis de Bernières: The Dust That Falls From Dreams
  • Molly Wizenberg: A Homemade Life: Stories and Recipes From My Kitchen Table
  • Samantha Ellis: How to Be a Heroine: Or, What I’ve Learned From Reading Too Much
  • Maggie Shipstead: Astonish Me
  • Ron Chernow: Alexander Hamilton
  • Jeremy Carter and Lin-Manuel Miranda: Hamilton: The Revolution
  • Alison Bechdel: Fun Home
  • Alison Bechdel: Are You My Mother?
  • Tom Nissley: A Reader’s Book of Days: True Tales From the Lives and Works of Writers for Every Day of the Year
  • Elena Ferrante: My Brilliant Friend
  • Elena Ferrante: The Story of a New Name
  • Elena Ferrante: Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay
  • Elena Ferrante: The Story of the Lost Child
  • Brit Bennett: The Mothers
  • Ann Patchett: Commonwealth

Total cost: $233.88

Everything I bought on Amazon Kindle, including purchases specifically for the “What Children’s Literature Teaches Us About Money” series:

  • Keith DeCandido: The Zoo Job (A Leverage Novel)
  • Greg Cox: The Bookseller Job (A Leverage Novel) (and in case you’re wondering, I already own Matt Forbeck’s The Con Job)
  • Gavin de Becker: The Gift of Fear: Survival Signals That Protect Us From Violence
  • E.B. White: Charlotte’s Web
  • George Ella Lyon: Borrowed Children
  • Gertrude Chandler Warner: The Boxcar Children
  • Elizabeth George Speare: The Witch of Blackbird Pond
  • Amy Spalding: Love and Music (and Missing Ted Callahan)
  • Louise Fitzhugh: Harriet the Spy
  • Roald Dahl: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
  • Patricia MacLachlan: Sarah, Plain and Tall
  • Amy Spalding: The New Guy (and Other Senior Year Distractions)
  • Beth Jusino: The Author’s Guide to Marketing: Make a Plan That Attracts More Readers and Sells More Books (You May Even Enjoy It)

Total cost: $90.50

Plus two physical books purchased through Amazon:

  • Kayla Cagan: Piper Perish
  • John D. Fitzgerald: The Return of the Great Brain

Total cost: $28.96

GRAND TOTAL: $353.34

I’m not going to tally up every book I checked out of the library, but I will tell you that I’ve read 85 books this year (so far), including books I bought, books I borrowed, and books I already owned but wanted to re-read.

So, in terms of my Best Self, I’d say I more than accomplished the Book Goal.

This article is an update to The Billfold’s 2015 end-of-year series, “Our Best Selves in the Coming Year.”

--

--

Nicole Dieker
The Billfold

Freelance writer at Vox, Bankrate, Haven Life, & more. Author of The Biographies of Ordinary People.