Everything I Need to Do Financially Before the End of the Year

Which really means “before December 20.”

Nicole Dieker
The Billfold
2 min readDec 2, 2016

--

Photo credit: ewvasquez2001, CC BY 2.0.

Research the difference between Roth and SEP IRAs and determine which one would be more valuable to me in the long-term. (I know you can do both, and that might be the best long-term choice, but right now I only have enough money for one.) In the short term the Roth IRA would be easier, because I already have one set up through my bank account and I could just put more money into it. (My current Roth IRA balance is zero because I took all the money out during a lean period a few years ago and paid the penalty. I know they say you aren’t supposed to do that, but it had money and I needed that money and I have no regrets.)

Look into whether I should roll over my TIAA-CREF 403(b) into whatever retirement vehicle I decide is better for me. Advantages: potentially saving money on fees. Disadvantages: having all of my retirement money in the same place, probably invested in the same index fund.

Look into whether I should divide my investments between multiple index funds.

Put $5,500 from my checking account into a retirement vehicle. Potentially roll over the $39,743.69 in my TIAA-CREF 403(b).

Get a business credit card, as per my new CPA’s recommendation. (Did I tell you I got a new CPA? I should have done this a year ago.)

Sign up with a financial software program, e.g. Quickbooks, as per my new CPA’s recommendation. (This is for both of our benefits; when I met with my CPA last year and explained my hand-crafted financial tracking spreadsheet, she was all “you know it would be easier on both of us if you started using a standard financial software program.”)

Have conversations with freelance clients about 2017 expectations and potential workloads. Based on the results of these conversations, renegotiate rates where applicable.

Finish signing up for healthcare before the Open Enrollment period expires.

Buy holiday gifts.

Buy a new coat, because I told Ester I would do that. (I might not actually do this.)

Buy more books, because I told y’all I would do that.

Make a gob of charitable donations.

Give my stylist a holiday bonus.

Probably more stuff I haven’t thought of yet.

What about you?

--

--

Nicole Dieker
The Billfold

Freelance writer at Vox, Bankrate, Haven Life, & more. Author of The Biographies of Ordinary People.