Friday Estimate

Megan Reynolds
The Billfold
Published in
2 min readFeb 17, 2017
Photo: Erik Anestad

This is going to be an expensive weekend, but I’ve planned and I’m ready. Tonight, I am probably going to do what I do every Friday, which is buy flowers ($35) and a cookie or something ($1) and then watch all the TV I don’t get to watch during the week. On Saturday, my sisters and I are headed to Montauk for a spa weekend. My share of the hotel is $150. The train ticket there is $30 and the Jitney back is $33. We each booked a massage and a day pass for the spa at a hotel that is much fancier than the one we’re staying at, for $170 total, plus a tip that I will add upon arrival. I suppose we’ll need to eat; maybe I’ll buy something, maybe I won’t. It’s going to be expensive, but I’m good with it.

We get back on Monday, which is a day off for Team Billfold, so I’ll probably hole up and do work in an attempt to get ahead or I’ll go buy socks. That could go either way, and since estimating my vacation days feels like it saps the fun out of vacation, I’ll just say that your guess is as good as mine.

That puts me at a solid $419, but there’s room for it to be more.

Estimate away!

--

--