Show Us Your Grocery Receipts, Part Nine: Whole Foods

Nicole Dieker
The Billfold
Published in
4 min readApr 11, 2016
Broad City

When I asked you all to send me your grocery receipts, Team Billfold sent in receipts from a variety of supermarkets and stores, from Calgary Co-Op to Target.

But there were three grocery stores that kept showing up, over and over: Trader Joe’s, Aldi, and Whole Foods.

I’ve already featured Whole Foods receipts twice, in the original Show Us Your Receipts installment as well as in Round Two:

Let’s look at two more Whole Foods receipts to see what other Billfolders are buying.

Receipt #1: Whole Foods in Indianapolis

Billfolder Rachael writes:

This is a receipt for a weekly grocery trip — this time to Whole Foods. I try not to do my whole haul there each week, but on weeks when I need multiple fussy items like my preferred flavor of coconut milk creamer and fresh-ground almond butter, I bite the bullet and decide the extra dollars are worth having to only make one trip to a store that day. I rarely grocery shop during the week. This was more than I aimed to spend weekly, but I splurged on cream soda and many of those items will last me multiple weeks, so a higher bill every few trips isn’t too worrisome to me — it all usually evens out.

I live in Indianapolis, Indiana. One what may be a mildly interesting note, this Whole Foods is located on a stretch on road that is jam-packed with grocery stores (called dramatically the “Ground Zero in the Indianapolis grocery wars”). Ideally this would mean great deals for consumers, but I’m not sure that Whole Foods really cares.

Receipt #2: THE FLAGSHIP Whole Foods in Austin

Another Billfolder writes:

Meat is the only thing we reliably buy at Whole Foods (we blissfully accept their animal welfare coding system in our attempt to avoid monetarily supporting CAFOs and misery meat). By the time we have driven there and found parking it seems worth it to buy a few weeks of meat at a time and throw it in the freezer. We buy what’s on special which makes dinner feel spontaneous!

I’m also just noticing how tiny this receipt looks. Like they’re even hippies in the paper waste for receipts department. But I guess this is THE FLAGSHIP Whole Foods so they keep it pretty real.

Bonus Receipt #3: New Leaf Market in Tallahassee

This receipt isn’t from Whole Foods, but I think you’ll be able to guess why I’m sharing it now:

I live in Tallahassee, FL and do most of my shopping at a co-op. They don’t always have everything I need, so I supplement with trips to Publix or Whole Foods. Items I couldn’t find this week: cilantro, tomato paste, Maseca brand cornmeal. Usually it’s because a particular truck hasn’t come in stock — I could normally get the cilantro and tomato paste there.

Also, I don’t normally spend this much, but this includes my shopping for a Super Bowl party. (I bought meat for chili from a local farmer’s market.) AND I stocked up on local eggs because they’re tough to get in the winter.

In our next installment, I’ll share the remaining Trader Joe’s and Aldi receipts. (I always want to pluralize Aldi. Who else just calls it “Aldi’s?”)

Previously: Show Us Your Grocery Receipts, Part Eight: Giant Eagle Market District, Aldi, Trader Joe’s, and Hannaford

--

--

Nicole Dieker
The Billfold

Freelance writer at Vox, Bankrate, Haven Life, & more. Author of The Biographies of Ordinary People.