flickr photo by US Army Africa http://flickr.com/photos/usarmyafrica/4401737412 shared under a Creative Commons (BY) license

Foundations of Reading Task Force

Greg McVerry
The Binder
Published in
1 min readOct 15, 2015

--

When I attended my first event as a new Southern Connecticut State University Faculty member Dean Sampson introduced me to former President Battel. The first words (and only now that I think back) the President said to me were, “How are you going to raise our Foundation scores?”

That following semester Dean Sampson created a Foundations of Reading Task force and asked me to serve. I recieved a three credits of release time. I began by reviewing the data and seeing where we could quickly raise scores.

An analysis of scores indicated we had to concentrate on the first objective (phonemic awareness and phonics) and the written essay. If we could raise our scores in these two areas our pass rate would climb.

I created a series of training activities, worksheets, and videos. Our test scores are now much higher. I hope I did my part.

--

--

Greg McVerry
The Binder

I am a researcher and teacher educator at Southern Connecticut State University. Focus on literacy and technology.