London Food Month has begun

Torie True
The Binge Blog
Published in
3 min readJun 3, 2017

I’m in a state of mild euphoria as June has arrived, which is the official start of the Food Month in London — a celebration of the world’s culinary capital. Didn’t know that one whole month to get even more excited about food than I normally am was possible. As I scrambled out of the tube the other evening, the magazine that accompanied the Evening Standard was thrust into my hands. It turned out to be the “official programme” of all the events going on throughout the month. This was a few weeks back, and since then, I have been scouring this journal, getting my game plan together on how to attack the month.

There’s so much going on that it’s a little overwhelming to be honest, and I’m feeling exhausted before it’s even begun. I did consider getting a highlighter to mark all the events that appealed, but in the end my eye was drawn to a couple of events. Now, I have been in two minds about whether or not to share this here (as I may be shooting myself in the foot, so to speak), as the tickets for my favourite event haven’t gone live yet. I even called the restaurant and asked how I could get hold of some and the reply was that I need to just keep monitoring their social media accounts and they will let everyone know at the same time. I fear it may be a similar outcome as when myself, siblings and heaven knows how many other thousands of people tried to get tickets for the ‘You Me Bum Bum’ event previously — the immersive theatre experience that is like no other (I’ve managed to secure tickets in the past and let’s just say that the experience will remain with me forever).

Needless to say, the system crashed and we were number 9254 when we finally got in a queue. In other words: were never going to get tickets. So I have been glued to my instagram more so than ever, to my families chagrin, waiting for the “sign” that the ticket line is open. This hot ticket I am talking about is the event at Som Saa — the Thai restaurant I did a mini review of on my blog back in October last year. The legendary David Thompson will return to London for a one-off celebration (June 26th) of Thai street food, hosted by Som Saa but will also include dishes from other Thai restaurant heavy weights: Kiln, Smoking Goat and The Begging Bowl. I am salivating at the thought, but also know I mustn’t get my hopes up.

The other event I’m keen to check out is the Night Market at Perks Field in Kensington. Firstly I love the fact that it is in Kensington, which, being fairly residential, is not the first place that would spring to mind for a night market. It’s near Kensington Palace, so I’m curious to see how it will all come together. Over 50 of London’s top street food stars, restaurants and chefs will be there. It opens on Wednesday the 7th through to Sunday the 18th (June) and is definitely on my agenda.

For those who love a good taco, Killer Tomato (love this name for a restaurant) in “Da Bush” has a great deal on all through June: six house tacos and two Tommy’s margaritas for £15. Bargain. If I was in town June 10–11th, St Anne’s Churchyard Gardens on Wardour Street have more than 50 of London’s top restaurants cooking their signature dishes with all proceeds going to the local primary schools. Hoppers, Bao, Ceviche, Kiln, The Palomar, Ducksoup and heaps more will all be there.

Fortnums’ Midnight Food Hall Feast sounds temptingly intriguing — think candlelit dinner in their food halls, with produce from their counters, starting at 10.45pm (although I may be “hank marvin” by that stage). “Extraordinary entertainment” will be provided. The mind boggles. The more I pour over the programme, the more I just want to attend everything; the options are so exciting. Hats off to Tom Parker Bowles and Grace Dent, the Creative Directors behind the whole event, who have achieved a truly impressive line up. Now don’t go clogging up those phone lines for me now will you.

Check it out online at: londonfoodmonth.co.uk @londonlovesfood #londonfoodmonth

--

--

Torie True
The Binge Blog

Food Blogger (www.chilliandmint.com) focusing on cooking with herbs and spices. Restaurant Reviewer for new London openings (www.binge.co.in)