The Best Advice for New Golfers

Katherine McInnes
The Birds and the Tees
6 min readFeb 7, 2022

There is a lot of advice out there for golfers, particularly new golfers, and given the vast amount of information associated with this game, it can be overwhelming. How do you absorb all of the information, remember it while you’re practicing, and then actually execute on it to work towards a better swing? What about the hundreds of sources of information; how do you know what to retain and which to take with a grain of salt?

In addition to the thousands of online resources, there are often friends, family, or even strangers at the course that are eager to share their knowledge about the game and what you should be doing. The trouble is, a lot of this information is conflicting. So where is the right place to turn?

I am not an expert, I am not a golf pro, but I am an amateur golfer who has spent that last few years attempting to learn and running into my fair share of bombs. So, for what it is worth, here are the 5 best pieces of advice I can offer a new golfer.

Learn the Rules

No, really. This may seem obvious, but many new golfers strike out thinking that the only thing they need to focus on is their swing. The truth is, learning the rules early on will not only make you a better player, it will make your game far more enjoyable once you are out on the course.

Also be sure to read up on etiquette. While some may view etiquette as the stuffy, not fun part of golf, in reality those rules are largely designed to make play more enjoyable for every one on the course. Understanding things such as pace of play, where the cart can’t go, and how to handle interactions with other groups (good or bad) should on the top of a new golfers learning list before heading to the course.

Practice A Little Every Day

Conventional wisdom (and several psychologists) have said that it takes 10,000 hours to become an expert at something. Doesn’t matter what the topic or skill is, the logic is that if you have spent 10,000 hours doing something, you have likely learned and enhanced your skills enough to be an expert (or maybe a PGA pro).

Most people don’t have that kind of time to dedicate to a hobby, but if you really want to improve your golf game, dedicating consistent time to practice is imperative. The phrase “practice makes perfect” is not just for parents to recite to get their kids to do their homework — it is true. The more you practice, the more your body will adapt to a consistent swing and eliminate bad habits as you work through them. Of course, to eliminate bad habits you need to be sure to work on drills and exercises designed to address those issue. Repeatedly practicing a poor swing isn’t going to get you very far.

In reality, this first piece of advice can be applied to golfers of all levels. If you live in a climate where you can golf year round or you travel to play consistently, perhaps you have not experienced the headaches and truly terrible shots that come after a few months off of playing.I can tell you from experience, the months taken off dusting Michigan weather definitely impeded my golf progress. Over this past winter I made a conscious effort to do body mechanic drills and short game exercises to help my body maintain the progress I made over the summer.

You don’t have to practice gold for hours on end every day to improve; even dedicating 10 minutes to putting practice or a few swings drills to keep the correct motion in your swing will help advance your game.

Record Yourself

Whether you buy a fancy camera, place your phone on a tripod, or even prop it up on a box, recording your swing over time is a great tool for seeing how your body is moving throughout the swing, and indenting the areas that you can work on to improve.

I have a tripod now, but when I started recording myself last summer I had to either talk my fiancé into recording for me, or I angled my phone against an Amazon box on a lawn chair to capture my swing practice. Recording myself helped me to see what was causing my slice, which made it easier for me to understand how the drills were supposed to help me and focus on correcting that movement.

Recording yourself also allows you to use apps or software to get real time feedback on your swing, and monitor changes and improvements over time. I use the AI Swing Analyzer in my 18 Birdies app to see what is airing about my swing, and where I need to work. This is a great tool because the app saves my previous swings and tracks my overall swing score in addition to the areas of improvement that I have targeted.

Get A Coach — even for just a few lessons

With the wealth of information available on the internet, and especially on YouTube and Instagram, it can be easy to watch a few videos, try some drills, and assume you are good to start improving your golf game. While these are great resources, there isn’t much content out there that will match the level of expertise that a coach can offer. A coach can offer immediate feedback on elements of your swing or technique that are unique to you, not addressed to problems most commonly seen. They also have ways to help you fix those exact issues; even if you know what is going wrong, it can be heard to figure out how to fix it. An example of this from my game is my softball swing. When I first started playing I could feel myself coming over the top of the ball, but I had little idea of which of the 100s of tips that address coming over the top would be most helpful for me.Coaches may also be able to address issues that you don’t even know you have, or that may be the real root of your swing troubles. They are trained to see movements that you might not catch even if you regularly record yourself.

You don’t have to work with a coach for years or pay thousands of dollars to improve. Even setting up a few sessions to address areas for improvement and recognize the causes of your habits can be a huge help. Best of all, you don’t even have to go to a course or range anymore if you don’t want to. Many coaches are now doing virtual sessions that allow for scheduling and location flexibility.

Focus on Your Short Game

“Drive for show, putt for dough”

It may be a cliche, but it’s also the truth. Many new golfers spend hours at the range focused on the clubs that go the farthest, but while practicing to create a consistently repetitive swing is important, it isn’t your driver or irons that will cost you the most strokes on the course. Chipping and putting are not only the savers of par when playing, they are also the hardest skills to truly master.

Phil Mickelson is known for his golf prowess, but while his swing is notable, it if often his short game that gets the most attention. His win at the 2021 PGA Championship was proof of how a solid short game can overcome some wild drives or iron shots.

An errant chip or a couple of 3 putts will add to your score much more quickly than a slice off the tee. Make sure that you are spending as much or more time practicing your short game as you hard trying to hit the ball 250 yard off the tee.

Justin Thomas on the putting green at the 2021 PGA Championship

What is the best golf advice that you have received? How about the worst? Stay tuned for more takes on both, and leave me a comment with your best advice for new golfers!

Until next time,

Fore!

Katherine

This post originally appeared on The Birds and the Tees

--

--

Katherine McInnes
The Birds and the Tees

Data-driven creative spirit, marketer by trade, golfer and plant mom by chance.