Different

Monotonous poetry

Mayur Sonowal
The Black Veil
1 min readFeb 15, 2023

--

Photo by Chetan Menaria on Unsplash

I start it over with something slow,
Something different, something swell.
Inking. Sinking. I might as well.

Encapsulated within my force-field,
A fly bangs his wings upon my mosquito net,
I let him in, I watch me bleed.

As I chase away my death,
The clock strikes one,
Cozy up and off to bed

Only to have them come back.
Raging at me like a pair of hounds
If only I didn’t crack.

Nevertheless, I make way.
I make way for them.
Some things always remain the same.

If only I could think of something else,
Mother’s words ringing in my ears,
Left cheek. Right cheek. Crystal clear.

A teardrop and a sigh,
My headphones hug my earlobes,
I crumble and I die.

Father’s silence was fun,
Reducing me to a box of smut,
Overpampered. Cumbersome.

Have I become,
A roaring flame or a smoldering gun,
The raging tempest or the twilight sun.

The path I take is different,
The outcome, none.
Pent up angst masked by pretense.

Decades, years, months,
I toy with my epiphanies,
Wishing I had something different,

Something swell, something fun,
I start over with my old pen,
Wish I could have felt I’d won.

Thank you for reading.

--

--

Mayur Sonowal
The Black Veil

An Infallible Poet, A Tennis player, A blunder master at Chess, and a horrible Engineer.