I Lie the Sadness Away

Pasting on a fake smile

Suddenly Sue
The Black Veil

--

Photo by Molnár Bálint on Unsplash

No peace, no calm, no rest,
Constant disarray and stress.
I’m doing too much, not doing enough.
I can’t see reality or call my own bluff.

My thoughts are endless,
In constant distress.
Running in circles, for miles and miles.
Is this life really worthwhile?

Twisting, looping, turning.
Winding and churning.
Never stopping, never free.
I long for days without misery.

Overthinking, overanalyzing,
Reevaluating and redefining,
Looking for the crime.
What am I doing wrong this time?

Nobody is trustworthy,
Everyone is out to get me.
All want to watch me fail.
But in truth, I cause myself to derail.

Deceived by my own mind.
Unrest is always what I find.
Is there an end to all this drama?
I replay the sadness, stuck inside this trauma.

I’m broken inside, I pretend to be okay.
Pasting on a fake smile, I lie the sadness away.

2022

--

--

Suddenly Sue
The Black Veil

I write to get the words out of my head… and learn about myself in the process.