Poetry | Free Verse

Love Poems

My poems bleed

Rena Aliston
The Black Veil
Published in
Jul 21, 2023

--

Photo by Bernd 📷 Dittrich on Unsplash

I don’t know how to write
love poems or joyous journeys
across rainbow bridges where
lollipops dance with butterfly
wings and sand castles hold
memories of lullabies and cotton
candy. My poems bleed like sin
creeping into dreams and maggots
laying eggs on the moon
bringing forth nightmares,
awakening delusions. The truth
dances with chaos, holds hands
with deception. I walk in the grey
between light and dark where
the realization of pain resides,
healing blooms. I don’t know
how to write love poems.

© 2023 Rena Aliston. All rights reserved.

--

--

Rena Aliston
The Black Veil

Dark poet, crime and horror stories writer (renaaliston.com), Saponi/German, dog lover, animist/heathen, archer.