Swept Away

You took my breath away

Dani Ray
The Black Veil
1 min readJun 23, 2024

--

Woman on her back laying in ocean waves
Photo by Ryan Moreno on Unsplash

I was swept away by your eyes, your words
The sand beneath my toes taken by the tide

Until all I could feel was the fleeting mounds of sand
Under the balls of my feet
Unsteady, I knew I should turn toward the shore

But your grasp was so mighty and alluring
I willingly allowed myself to be pulled

Soon I could no longer see the sandy beach
My footing lost in the tumultuous waves

One day, they were mellow and warm
The next crashing against my face

The water rose in increments making its way
Up to my chest, my neck, my chin, my nose

One more high tide would do me in
I knew I had to go

My tender heart couldn’t survive in the heckle Jekyll sea
I gave my all to you, body and soul

But I should have fallen in love with me

--

--

Dani Ray
The Black Veil

NYC magazine writer and editor with 20+ years of experience in publishing. Essays, articles, poetry. Writer. Thinker. Feeler.