THE PROMISE

A pensive morning

Gayu Chakkangal
The Black Veil
2 min readMar 28, 2023

--

Image by yamabon from Pixabay

I recommend listening to this track while reading the poem:

Merce — My World, Courtesy of MrSuicideSheep

It’s Spring, and the thought of the cherry blossom tree with a deer in sight and daffodils all along the sidewalk puts a smile on the face

I drift between two colluding moments creating jazz, harmony and chaos; two worlds, one dark yet cheerful outside and one bright but unsettling inside

My fuzzy brain needs both the rhythm from Merce- My World and the soothing tunes from the nature watchers

With a hot cup of coffee, I look at the grey skies and see a silver lining

It’s only 630am, and I start my day with headphones on and a quick run; I feel alive

The walk back is complete with the sight of a red-breasted robin in a quiet corner of a tree and the Sun climbing speedily up to the top amidst a few orange clouds

Nature is ready for another day, and I gently hop along the path humming to a new soundtrack that reminds me of a loved one

The nostalgia perfects my mood, and I start another pensive morning

Back in my room, I see golden and dark clouds in the sky shining through my dreamcatcher that keep me smiling

It’s springtime when it’s cold and warm; I like everything in between, like warm socks and numb fingers, but not for long, and hey, summer can wait!

Still looking at the sky this time, I see the trees and the Sun shining brightly at me

I wish for tall winged birds to fly past the glazing Sun, and the wish comes true like magic

Embarrassed, I tell nature, “Hmm, I need you more than you can tell”

Soon the Sun disappears into the clouds, and I into my laptop with a quiet promise to do my bit to protect mother nature, my nurturer.

Image by garten-gg from Pixabay

--

--